AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles
NFL Team information
Play inLincoln Financial Field
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Fight songFly, Eagles Fly
MascotSwoop (changed from Blitz in 1988)
Other information
OwnerJeffrey Lurie
ChairmanJeffrey Lurie
CEOJeffrey Lurie
PresidentJoe Banner
General managerHowie Roseman
Head coachAndy Reid
Team history
*Philadelphia Eagles (1933 42) *Philadelphia-Pittsburgh "Steagles" (1943)
Philadelphia Eagles 1944 - present
League championships*NFL Championships (3)
1948, 1949, 1960 (3)
Conference championships*NFL Eastern: 1960 *NFC: 1980, 2004 (3)
Division championships*NFL East: 1947, 1948, 1949, 1960 *NFC East: 1980, 1988, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010 (11)
Playoff appearances
  • NFL: 1947, 1948, 1949, 1960, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010
Home fields
*Baker Bowl (1933 35) *Philadelphia Municipal Stadium (1936 39; 1941) *Connie Mack Stadium (1940; 1942 57) **a.k.a. Shibe Park (1940 53) *Franklin Field (1958 70) *Veterans Stadium (1971 2002) *Lincoln Financial Field (2003 present)

     Home | NFL | Philadelphia Eagles

The Philadelphia Eagles are a professional American football team based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They are members of the East Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The Eagles have won three NFL titles and made two Super Bowl appearances, losing both (in 1980 to the Oakland Raiders and in 2005 to the New England Patriots).

The club was established in 1933 as a replacement for the bankrupt Frankford Yellow Jackets after a syndicate led by future NFL commissioner Bert Bell purchased the rights to a Philadelphia franchise from the league. The Eagles were named after the Blue Eagle, a symbol used for the New Deal stimulus programs initiated during the Great Depression.

Eagles players who have been inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame include Chuck Bednarik, Bob Brown, Reggie White, Steve Van Buren, Tommy McDonald, Earle "Greasy" Neale, Pete Pihos, Sonny Jurgensen and Norm Van Brocklin. Bell was also inducted as a contributor. In November, 2010, the Philadelphia Eagles announced their plan to take Lincoln Financial Field off the power grid by converting all of their power to solar energy.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260