AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Minnesota Vikings

Minnesota Vikings
NFL Team information
Play inMall of America Field at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Fight songSkol, Vikings
MascotViktor the Viking, Ragnar
Other information
OwnerZygi Wilf (majority)
ChairmanZygi Wilf
PresidentMark Wilf
General managerRick Spielman
(Vice President of Player Personnel)
Head coachLeslie Frazier
Team history
Minnesota Vikings 1961 - present
Team nicknamesThe Vikes, The Purple, Purple Pride, The Purple People Eaters, The Purple and Gold
League championships*NFL Championships (1)
1969 (0†)
Conference championships*NFL Western: 1969 *NFC: 1973, 1974, 1976 (4)
Division championships*NFL Central: 1968, 1969 *NFC Central: 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1989, 1992, 1994, 1998, 2000 *NFC North: 2008, 2009 † � Does not include the AFL or NFL Championships won during the same seasons as the AFL � NFL Super Bowl Championships prior to the 1970 AFL � NFL merger (18)
Playoff appearances
  • NFL: 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2009
Home fields
*Metropolitan Stadium (1961 � 1981) *Mall of America Field at Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (1982 � present)

     Home | NFL | Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings are a professional American football team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Vikings joined the National Football League (NFL) as an expansion team in 1960. They compete in the North Division of the National Football Conference (NFC), previously the Western Conference Central Division and the NFC Central Division.

The Vikings have played their home games at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis since 1982. The Metrodome has recently been renamed to Mall of America Field. Prior to 1982, the team had called Metropolitan Stadium in suburban Bloomington home since their inaugural season of 1961. The Vikings conducted summer training camp at Bemidji State University from 1961 � 65; in 1966, they moved their training camp to Minnesota State University in Mankato, where it has been ever since.

Throughout the Vikings' history, they have had one of the highest winning percentages in the NFL. They are also one of only five NFL teams to win 15 games during the regular season. The Vikings have won one NFL championship, in 1969, prior to the league's merger with the American Football League (AFL). Since the merger, they have made the playoffs 24 times, third most in the league. The team has played in four Super Bowls, but lost each time. The team currently has ten members in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, Bud Grant, Jim Finks, Paul Krause, Ron Yary, Carl Eller, Gary Zimmerman, Randall McDaniel, and John Randle.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260