AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Detroit Lions

Detroit Lions
NFL Team information
Play inFord Field
Detroit, Michigan
Fight songGridiron Heroes
MascotRoary the Lion
Theo "Gridiron" Spight (fight song singer)
Other information
OwnerWilliam Clay Ford, Sr.
ChairmanWilliam Clay Ford, Sr.
PresidentTom Lewand
General managerMartin Mayhew
Head coachJim Schwartz
Team history
* Portsmouth Spartans (1929 1933)
Detroit Lions 1934 - present
League championships* NFL Championships (4)
1935, 1952, 1953, 1957 (4)
Conference championships* NFL National: 1952 * NFL Western: 1953, 1954, 1957 (4)
Division championships* NFL West: 1935 * NFC Central: 1983, 1991, 1993 (4)
Playoff appearances
  • NFL: 1935, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1957, 1970, 1982, 1983, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999
Home fields
* Universal Stadium (1930 1933) * University of Detroit Stadium (1934 1937, 1940) * Tiger Stadium (1938 1939, 1941 1974) ** a.k.a. Briggs Stadium (1938 1960) * Pontiac Silverdome (1975 2001) * Ford Field (2002 present)

     Home | NFL | Detroit Lions

The Detroit Lions are a professional American football team based in Detroit, Michigan. They are members of the North Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL), and play their home games at Ford Field in Downtown Detroit.

Originally based in Portsmouth, Ohio and called the Portsmouth Spartans, the team began play in 1929 as an independent professional team, one of many such teams in the Ohio and Scioto River valleys. For the 1930 season, the Spartans formally joined the NFL as the other area independents folded because of the Great Depression. Despite success within the NFL, they could not survive in Portsmouth, then the NFL's smallest city. The team was purchased and moved to Detroit for the 1934 season.

The Lions have won four NFL Championships, the last in 1957, giving the club the second-longest NFL championship drought behind the Arizona Cardinals. The Lions are one of four current NFL teams that have yet to qualify for the Super Bowl. The 2008 team became the only team in NFL history to lose all 16 regular season games since the NFL went to a 16-game schedule in 1978.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260