AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

San Diego Chargers

San Diego Chargers
NFL Team information
Play inQualcomm Stadium
San Diego, California
Fight songSan Diego Super Chargers
Other information
OwnerAlex Spanos
(George Pernicano, minority owner with 3% share)
CEOA.G. Spanos
PresidentDean Spanos
General managerA. J. Smith
Head coachNorv Turner
Team history
* Los Angeles Chargers (1960)
San Diego Chargers 1961 - present
Team nicknamesThe Bolts, San Diego Super Chargers
League championships*AFL Championships: (1) *AFL: 1963 (1)
Conference championships*AFC: 1994 (1)
Division championships*AFL West: 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965 *AFC West: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1992, 1994, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 (15)
Playoff appearances
  • AFL: 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965
  • NFL: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
Home fields
*Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum (1960) *Balboa Stadium (1961 � 1966) *Sun Devil Stadium (October 27, 2003 due to Southern California Wildfires) *Qualcomm Stadium (1967 � present) **a.k.a. San Diego Stadium (1967 � 1980) **a.k.a. Jack Murphy Stadium (1981 � 1997)

     Home | NFL | San Diego Chargers

The San Diego Chargers are a professional American football team based in San Diego, California. they were members of the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The club began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League, and spent its first season in Los Angeles, California before moving to San Diego in 1961. The Chargers play their home games at Qualcomm Stadium. , the Chargers continued to be the only NFL team based in Southern California, with no teams in Los Angeles since 1994.

The Chargers are the only team to start a season 0 � 4 and make the playoffs (1992), and the only team to start a season 4 � 8 and make the playoffs (2008). In addition, they are one of only 5 NFL teams since 1970 to rank first in overall offense and defense in the same season (2010), but the only team to achieve that feat without making the playoffs. Since the 2004 NFL season, they are also one of only four teams in the NFL to not have a losing record (Indianapolis, New England, and Pittsburgh are the other three), but the only one of the four that has failed to win the Super Bowl; the other three have won at least one Super Bowl title.

The Chargers won one AFL title in 1963 and reached the AFL playoffs five times and the AFL Championship four times before joining the NFL (1970) as part of the AFL-NFL Merger. In the 34 years since then, the Chargers have made ten trips to the playoffs and four appearances in the AFC Championship game. At the end of the 1994 season, the Chargers faced the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XXIX and fell 49 � 26. The Chargers have six players and one coach enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio: wide receiver Lance Alworth (1962 � 1970), defensive end Fred Dean (1975 � 1981), quarterback Dan Fouts (1973 � 1987), head coach/general manager Sid Gillman (1960 � 1969, 1971), wide receiver Charlie Joiner (1976 � 1986), offensive lineman Ron Mix (1960 � 1969) and tight end Kellen Winslow (1979-1987).

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260