Municipality of Strathfield
AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Municipality of Strathfield

Australian Place
NameMunicipality of Strathfield
StateNew South Wales
Density2143.26 /km2 5551 /sq mi
Area14.1 km2 5.4 sq mi
MayorTony Maroun (Liberal)
Council SeatStrathfield
RegionMetropolitan Sydney
State DistrictBankstown, Drummoyne, Strathfield
Federal DivisionLowe, Blaxland

     Home | Australian Place | Municipality of Strathfield

The Municipality of Strathfield is a Local Government Area of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. The Municipality was formed in 1885 and originally included the suburbs of Redmire, Homebush and Druitt Town. The name Strathfield was adopted by the new council in 1885 when the suburb of Redmire was renamed Strathfield at this time. Druitt Town was renamed Strathfield South in the early 1890s. Only Homebush survives as an original location name.

A disastrous attempt in the 1790s by the first settlers to farm the land around the current locality of Homebush, resulted in the land being abandoned. However, by the 1870s, the district commenced development primarily as a residential area. The central location, halfway between Sydney and Parramatta, the establishment of rail services (from 1855 at Homebush) and availability of land, initially at low costs, attracted many wealthy merchants to build country style mansions within reasonable access to their City based businesses. Strathfield was also promoted as a healthy environment, away from owercrowded City conditions and diseases. Early land advertisements speak of the inland location as away from the 'injurious sea conditions'. With the relocation to Strathfield of many prominent families including the heirs of retailer David Jones, chemist Washington H Soul and many others, Strathfield became an elite and wealthy area. Its development differed markedly from the more working class areas of surrounding districts like Canterbury, Auburn and Concord.

The Strathfield Municipality has expanded over time and now includes the suburbs of Strathfield, Homebush, Homebush West, Flemington, Greenacre, Enfield, Strathfield South, Chullora (part) and Belfield (part). Over the years it has become a major multicultural centre, having many different nationalities in its 14.1 km2 boundaries, of which the 3 largest non-Australian born groups are South Korean, Chinese, and Sri Lankan. Strathfield Municipal Council has a population of about 36,000 people and is one of Sydney's medium sized Councils.

Strathfield Municipal Council has traditionally opposed forced amalgamations with other local government areas, though the current Council itself has been expanded in size and population by incorporating the former Homebush Council in 1947 and the west ward of the former Enfield Council in 1949.

Strathfield Council was rocked in 2004-05 by allegations of corruption involving rezoning of land use. The two councillors involved resigned following the inquiry by the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC).

Latest News : Municipality of Strathfield : Tweet this RSS

Want to Municipality of Strathfield latest news on your twitter account???     sign in with twitter
Municipality of Strathfield    Add   ||   Australian_Place    Add   ||   Region    Add

Party Councillors
  Australian Labor Party 3
  Liberal Party of Australia 2
  Independents 2
Total 7

Councillor Party Notes
  Keith Kwon Labor Deputy Mayor
  Bill Carney Liberal
  Danny Lim Independent
  Hope Brett-Bowen Labor
  Tony Maroun Liberal Mayor
  Paul Barron Independent
  Sundar Eswaran Labor

Regions of Sydney

Central Business District * Eastern Suburbs * Forest District * Greater Western Sydney * Hills District * Inner West * Canterbury-Bankstown * Macarthur * Northern Beaches * North Shore * Northern Suburbs * Southern Sydney * St George * South-western Sydney
Local Government Areas of Sydney
Ashfield * Auburn * Bankstown * Blacktown * Botany Bay * Burwood * Camden * Campbelltown * Canada Bay * Canterbury * Fairfield * The Hills * Holroyd * Hornsby * Hunter's Hill * Hurstville * Kogarah * Ku-ring-gai * Lane Cove * Leichhardt * Liverpool * Manly * Marrickville * Mosman * North Sydney * Parramatta * Penrith * Pittwater * Randwick * Rockdale * Ryde * Strathfield * Sutherland * City of Sydney * Warringah * Waverley * Willoughby * Woollahra * Wollondilly

Privacy | Sitemap