City of Blacktown
AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

City of Blacktown

Australian Place
NameCity of Blacktown
StateNew South Wales
Population287,634 (2006) (3rd)
Density1140 /km2 2952.6 /sq mi
Area240 km2 92.6 sq mi
MayorCharles Lowles
Council SeatBlacktown
RegionMetropolitan Sydney
State DistrictBlacktown, Mount Druitt, Riverstone, Londonderry, Smithfield, Toongabbie
Federal DivisionChifley, Greenway, Prospect

     Home | Australian Place | City of Blacktown

:For the state electoral district, see Electoral district of Blacktown.

:For the suburb which is Blacktown's CBD, see Blacktown, New South Wales.

The City of Blacktown is situated approximately 35 km from Sydney, New South Wales, Australia on the Cumberland Plain in the heart of Western Sydney. It is bounded by the Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Penrith, Parramatta, Fairfield, Holroyd, Hawkesbury and The Hills Shire. It occupies an area of 246.9 square kilometres. It is the most populous (271,709 - 2006) Local Government Area in New South Wales.

Blacktown was originally named for an Aboriginal settlement in the area. Today, Blacktown continues to be home to a large Aboriginal population, the largest of any suburb or township in New South Wales.

A school for Aborigines was moved in 1823 from Parramatta to the site where Richmond Road meets Rooty Hill Road North. The road from Prospect to Richmond became known as the Black Town Road. In 1860 the Railway Department gave the name of Black Town Road Station to the railway station at the junction of the railway and the Black Town Road, with the name shortening to Blacktown by 1862.

Latest News : City of Blacktown : Tweet this RSS

Want to City of Blacktown latest news on your twitter account???     sign in with twitter
City of Blacktown    Add   ||   Australian_Place    Add   ||   Region    Add
Create your own Manga character, Blacktown School Holiday workshops - StreetCorner Tweet this news
StreetCorner--by StreetCorner Manga Art Workshops are being held at is -Blacktown City- Libraries these July school holidays. The workshops cost only $3 and are suitable ... - Date : Tue, 15 Jun 2010 03:00:02 GMT+00:00
Mamdoud's mighty contribution - Cumberland Courier Newspapers Tweet this news
Cumberland Courier Newspapers---...- in 2005 where he stared death directly in the face Mr Atalla continues to be a tireless crusader for the Sudanese community and the -city of Blacktown-. ... - Date : Mon, 14 Jun 2010 23:20:19 GMT+00:00
Glimpse of Blacktown Showgrounds future - Blacktown Advocate Tweet this news
Blacktown Advocate--AN OUTDOOR gym, a showroom building and water features are some of the initiatives planned for the redevelopment of -Blacktown- Showgrounds and Francis Park. ... - Date : Tue, 15 Jun 2010 23:24:23 GMT+00:00

Federal Government :
Division Member Party affiliation Elected
Chifley Hon Roger Price Labor 1984
Greenway Louise Markus Liberal 2004
Parramatta Julie Owens Labor 2004
Prospect Chris Bowen Labor 2004

State Government :
Division Member Party affiliation Elected
Blacktown Paul Gibson Labor 1999
Londonderry Allan Shearan Labor 2003
Mount Druitt Richard Amery Labor 1991
Riverstone John Aquilina Labor 1991
Toongabbie Nathan Rees Labor 2007

Council : Notes
Party Councillors
  Australian Labor Party 8
  Liberal Party of Australia 5
  Independents 2
Total 15

Council : Notes
Ward Councillor Party Notes
First Ward   Alan Pendleton Labor Deputy Mayor
  Nick Tyrrell Liberal
  Allan Green Independent
Second Ward   Leo Kelly Labor
  Len Robinson Liberal
  Julie Griffiths Labor
Third Ward   Kathie Collins Labor
  Jess Diaz Liberal
  Russ Dickens Independent
Fourth Ward   Stephen Bali Labor
  George Bilic Liberal
  Edmond Atalla Labor
Fifth Ward   Charlie Lowles Labor Mayor
  Tony Bleasdale Labor
  Jacqueline Donaldson Liberal

Council : Notes
Ward Suburbs
First *Vineyard, Riverstone, Schofields, Colebee, Dean Park, *Parklea, Acacia Gardens, Stanhope Gardens, Quakers Hill, *Marsden Park, *Rouse Hill, Kellyville Ridge, The Ponds
Second * *Blacktown, *Marayong, Kings Langley, Kings Park, Glenwood, Lalor Park, *Seven Hills
Third *Doonside, *Blacktown, *Arndell Park, *Huntingwood, *Prospect, *Seven Hills, *Toongabbie
Fourth *Tregear, *Hebersham, Whalan, *Doonside, *Blacktown, *Prospect, Eastern Creek, Minchinbury, Rooty Hill, Mount Druitt, *Plumpton, *Glendenning, *Huntingwood, *Arndell Park
Fifth *Marsden Park, Shanes Park, Willmot, Shalvey, Bidwill, Hassall Grove, Lethbridge Park, *Tregear, Blackett, Emerton, Dharruk, *Hebersham, Oakhurst, *Plumpton, *Glendenning

Regions of Sydney

Central Business District * Eastern Suburbs * Forest District * Greater Western Sydney * Hills District * Inner West * Canterbury-Bankstown * Macarthur * Northern Beaches * North Shore * Northern Suburbs * Southern Sydney * St George * South-western Sydney
Local Government Areas of Sydney
Ashfield * Auburn * Bankstown * Blacktown * Botany Bay * Burwood * Camden * Campbelltown * Canada Bay * Canterbury * Fairfield * The Hills * Holroyd * Hornsby * Hunter's Hill * Hurstville * Kogarah * Ku-ring-gai * Lane Cove * Leichhardt * Liverpool * Manly * Marrickville * Mosman * North Sydney * Parramatta * Penrith * Pittwater * Randwick * Rockdale * Ryde * Strathfield * Sutherland * City of Sydney * Warringah * Waverley * Willoughby * Woollahra * Wollondilly

Suburbs of the City of Blacktown * Western Sydney

Acacia Gardens * Arndell Park * Bidwill * Blackett * Blacktown * Colebee * Dean Park * Dharruk * Doonside * Eastern Creek * Emerton * Glendenning * Glenwood * Hassall Grove * Hebersham * Huntingwood * Kellyville Ridge * Kings Langley * Kings Park * Lalor Park * Lethbridge Park * Marayong * Marsden Park * Minchinbury * Mount Druitt * Oakhurst * Newbury * Parklea * Plumpton * Prospect * Quakers Hill * Riverstone * Rooty Hill * Ropes Crossing * Rouse Hill * Schofields * Seven Hills * Shalvey * Shanes Park * Stanhope Gardens * Toongabbie * The Ponds * Tregear * Vineyard * Whalan * Willmot * Woodcroft

Privacy | Sitemap