AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share


Full nameYucatán
Native nameEstado Libre y Soberano de Yucatán
Settlement typeState
AnthemHimno de Yucatán
AdmissionDecember 23, 1823
GovernorIvonne Ortega Pacheco
SenatorsBeatriz Zavala Peniche
Alfredo Rodríguez
Cleominio Zoreda
DeputiesFederal Deputies
• Efrain Aguilar Gongora
• Enrique Castillo Ruz
• Felipe Cervera
• Jorge Carlos Ramirez
• Eric Rubio Bartell
• Rolando Zapata Bello
• Rosa Adriana Diaz Lizama
• Yolanda Valencia Vales
• Daniel Avila Ruiz
• Liborio Vidal Aguilar
Total Area15290.2 sq mi (39612 km2)
Highest Elevation689 ft (210 m)
Total Population1955577 (21st) (2010)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (17th) (0/sq mi)
DemonymYucateco (a)
Other information
Time zoneCST (UTC−6)
- Summer (DST)CDT (UTC−5)
Postal code97
Area codeArea codes
• 969
• 985
• 986
• 988
• 991
• 997
• 999
ISO 3166 codeMX-YUC
HDI(+) 0.821 high Ranked 20th
GDPUS$ 9,191,180.625 th 

     Home | State | Yucatan

Yucatán (-esʝukaˈtan) officially Estado Libre y Soberano de Yucatán ( ) is one of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, comprise the 32 Federal Entities of Mexico. It is divided in 106 municipalities and its capital city is Mérida.

It is located in Southeastern Mexico, on the north part of the Yucatán Peninsula. It is bordered by the states of Campeche to the southwest, Quintana Roo to the northeast and the Gulf of Mexico lies off its north coast.

Before the arrival of Spaniards to the Yucatan peninsula, the name of this region was el Mayab. In Mayan language, "ma' ya'ab" is translated as "a few". It was a very important region for the Mayan civilization, which reached the peak of its development on this place, where they founded the cities of Chichen Itza, Izamal, Motul, Mayapan, Ek' Balam and Ichcaanzihóo (also called T'Hó), now Mérida.

After the Spanish conquest, Yucatán Peninsula was a single administrative and political entity, the Captaincy General of Yucatán. Following independence and the breakup of the Mexican Empire in 1823, the first Republic of Yucatán was proclaimed which then was voluntarily annexed to the Federal Republic of United Mexican States on December 21, 1823. Later on March 16, 1841, as result of cultural and political conflicts around the federal pact, Yucatán declared independence from Mexico to form a second Republic of Yucatán, but eventually on July 14, 1848, Yucatán was definitely rejoined to Mexico. In 1858, in the middle of the caste war, the state of Yucatan was divided for the first time, establishing Campeche as separate state (officially in 1863). During the Porfiriato, in 1902, the state of Yucatan was divided again to form the Federal territory that later became the present state of Quintana Roo.

Today, Yucatán is the safest state in Mexico and Mérida was awarded City of Peace in 2011.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260