AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

State of Mexico

State of Mexico
Full nameMéxico
Native nameEstado Libre y Soberano de México
Settlement typeState
MottoLibertad, Trabajo, Cultura (Freedom, Work, Culture)
AnthemHimno al Estado de México
CapitalToluca de Lerdo
Largest CityEcatepec de Morelos
AdmissionDecember 20, 1823
GovernorEruviel Ávila Villegas
SenatorsYeidckol Polevnsky
Miguel Bautista
Ulises Ramírez
DeputiesFederal Deputies
• 50
• 7
• 5
• Mexican Green Party 3
• Pt 2
• Convergencia 2
• Nueva Alianza 1
• Independent 1
• To see the names of the deputies, follow the link in the reference number 3
Total Area8629.8 sq mi (22357 km2)
Highest Elevation18044.6 ft (5500 m)
Total Population15175862 (1st) (2010)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (1st) (0/sq mi)
Other information
Time zoneCST (UTC−6)
- Summer (DST)CDT (UTC−5)
Postal code50-57
Area codeArea codes
• 1
• 2
• 3
• 4
ISO 3166 codeMX-MEX
HDI(+) 0.837 high Ranked 15th
GDPUS$ 62,220,803.98 

     Home | State | State of Mexico

México (-esˈmexikoes-mx-México, officially: Estado Libre y Soberano de México ( ) is one of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, comprise the 32 Federal Entities of the United Mexican States. It is divided in 125 municipalities and its capital city is Toluca de Lerdo.

The State of Mexico is often abbreviated to "Edomex" from 'Estado de México' in Spanish). It is located in South-Central Mexico. It is bordered by the states of Querétaro and Hidalgo to the north, Morelos and Guerrero to the south, Michoacán to the west, Tlaxcala and Puebla to the east and surrounds the Federal District.

The state’s origins are in the territory of the Aztec Empire, which remained a political division of New Spain during the colonial period. After Independence, Mexico City was chosen as the capital of the new nation, its territory was separated out the state. Years later, parts of the state were broken off to form the states of Hidalgo, Guerrero and Morelos. These territorial separations have left the state with the size and shape it has today, with the Toluca Valley to the west of Mexico City and a panhandle that extends around the north and east of this entity.

The name of the state is simply “México” according to the Political Constitution of the Mexican United States of 1917, but to distinguish from both the city and the country it is most often called “Estado de México.”

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260