AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Chicago Cubs

Chicago Cubs
Major league affiliations
National League (1876 - present)
Central Division (1994 - present)
Retired numbers10, 14, 23, 26, 31, 31, 42
ColorsBlue, Red, White      
Chicago Cubs (1903 - present)
Chicago Orphans (1898 1902) *Chicago Colts (1890 1897) *Chicago White Stockings (1870 1871, 1874 1889) (a.k.a. Remnants 1898 1901)
Other nicknamesThe Cubbies, The North Siders, The Boys in Blue, The Lovable Losers
Wrigley Field (1916 - present)
:*a.k.a. Cubs Park (1920 1926) :*a.k.a. Weeghman Park (1916 1920) *West Side Park (II) (1893 1915) *South Side Park (1891 1893) *West Side Park (I) (1885 1891) *Lakefront Park (II) (1883 1884) *Lakefront Park (I) (1878 1882) **23rd Street Grounds (1875 1877) *Ogden Park (1874) *23rd Street Grounds (1874) *Union Base-Ball Grounds (1871) *Dexter Park (1870)
Major league titles
World Series titles19081907 ((2))
NL Pennants194519381935 • 1932
1929 • 1918 • 1910 • 1908
1907 • 1906 • 1886 • 1885
1882 • 1881 • 1880 • 1876 ((16))
Central Division titles200820072003 ((3))
East Division titles (2)19891984
Wild card berths1998 ((1))
OwnerFamily trust of Joe Ricketts
Day-to-day control/Chairman: Tom Ricketts
Team President: Crane Kenney
ManagerMike Quade

     Home | Baseball | Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs are an American professional baseball team located in Chicago, Illinois.

They are members of the Central Division of Major League Baseball's National League. They are one of two Major League clubs based in Chicago (the other being the Chicago White Sox). The Cubs are also one of the two remaining charter members of the National League (the other being the Atlanta Braves). The team is currently owned by a family trust of TD Ameritrade founder Joe Ricketts, and was previously owned by the Wrigley Company and the Chicago Tribune.

The Cubs have not won the World Series in 103 years, a longer championship drought than that of any other major North American professional sports team,

and are often referred to as "The Lovable Losers" because of this distinction. They are also known as "The North Siders" because Wrigley Field, their home park since 1916, is located in Chicago's north side Lake View community at 1060 West Addison Street. The Cubs have rivalries with the St. Louis Cardinals, the Milwaukee Brewers, the Houston Astros, and the cross-town White Sox.

The club played its first games in 1870 and was founded professionally in 1871. This makes it, along with the Braves who were also founded in 1871, one of the two oldest active teams in major North American sports. Because the Cubs lost two seasons to the Great Chicago Fire, the Braves have played more seasons, although the Cubs hold the record for oldest team still in its original city.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260