AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Chicago White Sox

Chicago White Sox
Major league affiliations
American League (1901 - present)
West Division (1969-1993)
Central Division (1994 - present)
Retired numbers2, 3, 4, 9, 16, 19, 35, 42, 72
ColorsBlack, White      
Chicago White Sox (1901 - present)
(Chicago) White Stockings (1900 1903)
*From 1900 to 1903, the official name did not contain the city name of Chicago, although it was based there *St. Paul Saints (1895 1899) *Sioux City Cornhuskers (1894)
Other nicknamesThe Sox, The ChiSox, The South Siders, The Pale Hose, The Men in Black, The Shy Sox, The Black Sox
U.S. Cellular Field (1991 - present)
:*a.k.a. Comiskey Park (II) (1991 2003) *Milwaukee County Stadium (1968, 1969) *Comiskey Park (I) (1910 1990) **a.k.a. White Sox Park (1910-1912 & 1962-1975) *South Side Park (III) (1900 1910) **a.k.a. White Stockings Park (1900 1903) (The White Sox played selected home games in Milwaukee in 1968 and 1969)
Major league titles
World Series titles2005 • 1917 • 1906 ((3))
AL Pennants2005 • 1959 • 1919 • 1917
1906 • 1901 • 1900 • ((7))
WL Pennants (1)1894
Central Division titles200820052000 ((3) [1])
West Division titles (2)19931983
Wild card berthsNone ((0))
[1] - In 1994, a players' strike wiped out the last eight weeks of the season and all post-season. Chicago was in first place in the Central Division by one game over Cleveland when play was stopped. No official titles were awarded in 1994.
OwnerJerry Reinsdorf, Eddie Einhorn, Robert Mazer, Robert Judelson, Judd Malkin, Allan Muchin, Jay Pinsky, Larry Pogofsky, Lee Stern, Sanford Takiff, Burton Ury, Charles Walsh
ManagerDon Cooper (Interim Manager)

     Home | Baseball | Chicago White Sox

The Chicago White Sox are a Major League Baseball team located in Chicago, Illinois.The White Sox play in the American League's Central Division. Since 1991, the White Sox have played in U.S. Cellular Field, which was originally called New Comiskey Park and nicknamed The Cell by local fans. The White Sox are one of two major league clubs based in Chicago, the other being the Chicago Cubs of the National League. The White Sox last won the World Series in 2005 when they played the Houston Astros and swept them in four games.

One of the American League's eight charter franchises, the Chicago team was established as a major league baseball club in 1900. The club was originally called the Chicago White Stockings, after the nickname abandoned by the Cubs, and the name was soon shortened to Chicago White Sox, believed to have been because the paper would shorten it to Sox in the headlines. At this time, the team played their home games at South Side Park. In 1910, the team moved into historic Comiskey Park, which they would inhabit for more than eight decades.

The White Sox were a strong team during their first two decades, winning the 1906 World Series with a defense-oriented team dubbed "the Hitless Wonders", and the 1917 World Series led by Eddie Cicotte, Eddie Collins, and Shoeless Joe Jackson. The 1919 World Series, however, was marred by the Black Sox Scandal, in which several prominent members of the White Sox (including Cicotte and Jackson) were accused of conspiring with gamblers to purposefully lose games. Baseball's new commissioner Kenesaw Mountain Landis took decisive action, banning the tainted players from Major League Baseball for life. Decades of mediocrity followed for the White Sox until the 1950s, when perennially competitive teams were blocked from the playoffs by the dynastic New York Yankees, with the exception of the 1959 pennant winners led by Early Wynn, Nellie Fox, Luis Aparicio, and manager Al Lopez. Another pennant winner did not come until their championship season of 2005, when the White Sox won their first World Series championship in 88 years, breaking their epochal drought only a year after the Boston Red Sox had broken their slightly shorter but more celebrated "curse."

The Chicago White Sox are most prominently nicknamed "the South Siders", based on their particular district within Chicago. Other nicknames include "the Pale Hose", "the ChiSox", a combination of "Chicago" and "Sox" (as opposed to the BoSox), mostly just used by the national media, "the Go-Go Sox", a reference to 1959 AL champions, who got that nickname; "the Good Guys", a reference to the team's one-time motto "Good guys wear black", coined by Ken "Hawk" Harrelson; and "the Black Sox," referring specifically to the scandal-tainted 1919 team. Most fans and Chicago media refer to the team as simply "the Sox". The Spanish language media sometimes refer to the team as Medias Blancas for "White Socks."

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260