AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Milwaukee Brewers

Milwaukee Brewers
Major league affiliations
National League (1998 - present)
Central Division (1998 - present)
Retired numbers4, 19, 34, 42, 44
ColorsNavy Blue, Metallic Gold, White      
Milwaukee Brewers (1970 - present)
Seattle Pilots (1969)
Other nicknamesTrue Blue Brew Crew, The Brew Crew, The Crew, Beermakers, Beersmen, Cerveceros
Miller Park (2001 - present)
Milwaukee County Stadium (1970 2000) * Sick's Stadium (Seattle) (1969)
Major league titles
World Series titlesNone ((0))
NL PennantsNone ((0))
AL Pennants (1)1982
NL Central Division titles2011 ((1))
AL East Division titles1981, 1982
Wild card berths2008 ((1))
OwnerMark Attanasio
ManagerRon Roenicke

     Home | Baseball | Milwaukee Brewers

The Milwaukee Brewers are a professional baseball team based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, currently playing in the Central Division of Major League Baseball's National League. The team is named for the city's association with the brewing industry and plays its home games at Miller Park.

Originating in Seattle, Washington, as the Seattle Pilots, the club played for one season in 1969 before being acquired in bankruptcy court by current MLB Commissioner Bud Selig and then moved to Milwaukee. The Brewers were part of the American League from their creation as an expansion club in 1969 through the 1997 season, after which they moved to the National League Central Division. Milwaukee had previously been a National League city when its team was the Milwaukee Braves (1953 1965).

In 1982, Milwaukee won the American League East Division and the American League Pennant, earning their only World Series appearance to date. In the Series, they lost to the St. Louis Cardinals, four games to three.

In 2008, the Brewers achieved their first postseason berth in the 26 years since their World Series appearance as the wildcard team in the National League. They were eliminated in the NLDS by the eventual World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies.

On September 23, 2011, the Milwaukee Brewers clinched their first division title in 29 years. They are bound to the playoffs as the National League Central Division Champions.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260