AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Argentina national football team

Argentina national football team
National Football Team
Nickname La Albiceleste (The White and Sky blue) 
AssociationAsociación del Fútbol Argentino
(Argentine Football Association)
ConfederationCONMEBOL (South America)
Head coachAlejandro Sabella
CaptainLionel Messi
Most capsJavier Zanetti (145)
Top scorerGabriel Batistuta (56)
Home stadiumEl Monumental, Mario A. Kempes, Estadio Único
FIFA ranking10
Highest FIFA ranking1 (March 2007, October 2007 � June 2008)
Lowest FIFA ranking24 (August 1996)
Elo ranking7
Highest Elo ranking1 (most recently in July 2007, 34 times in total)
Lowest Elo ranking28 (June 1990)
World Cup Statistics
First internationalUnofficial: Uruguay 2 � 3 Argentina
(Montevideo, Uruguay; 16 May 1901) 
Official: Uruguay 0 � 6 Argentina
(Montevideo, Uruguay; 20 July 1902)
Biggest winArgentina 12 � 0 Ecuador
(Montevideo, Uruguay; 22 January 1942)
Biggest defeatCzechoslovakia 6 � 1 Argentina
(Helsingborg, Sweden; 15 June 1958)
Uruguay 5 � 0 Argentina
(Guayaquil, Ecuador; 16 December 1959)
Argentina 0 � 5 Colombia
(Buenos Aires, Argentina; 5 September 1993) Bolivia 6 � 1 Argentina
(La Paz, Bolivia; 1 April 2009)
First World Cup1930
Best resultWinners, 1978 and 1986
Regional cup statistics
Copa América
First apps.1916
Best resultWinners, 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993
Confederations Cup Statistics
First apps.1992
Best resultWinners, 1992

     Home | Football | Argentina national football team

The Argentina national football team ( ) represents Argentina in association football and is controlled by the Argentine Football Association (AFA), the governing body for football in Argentina. Argentina's home stadium is Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti and their head coach is Alejandro Sabella. Argentina has won the Copa América tournament 14 times. The team is currently tenth in the FIFA World Rankings.

Argentina has twice won the FIFA World Cup, in 1978 and 1986. Along with Brazil and Spain, they are the only teams that have won the competition outside their continental zone. Argentina has also won the Copa América (top continental competition) 14 times, the Confederations Cup in 1992 and the Olympic tournament in 2004 and 2008.

Argentina and France are the only two national teams that have won the three most important men's titles recognized by FIFA: the World Cup, the Confederations Cup, and the Olympic tournament. They have both also won their respective continental championship (Copa América for Argentina, and UEFA European Football Championship for France).

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260