AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Division of Oxley

Division of Oxley
Division of Oxley (green) within Queensland
CaptionDivision of Oxley (green) within Queensland
MpBernie Ripoll
NamesakeJohn Oxley
ClassOuter Metropolitan

     Home | Australian Electorate | Division of Oxley

The Division of Oxley is an Australian Electoral Division in Queensland. The current division is the second to bear the name, and was created in 1949. The division is named after the Australian explorer, John Oxley. Oxley is located in south east Queensland, and covers the south western suburbs of the City of Brisbane, and part of the City of Ipswich.

The original Division of Oxley was established in 1901, and was abolished and replaced by the Division of Griffith in 1934. Bill Hayden was the Labor Opposition Leader between 1977 and 1983, when he resigned under pressure the same day that the 1983 election which swept Bob Hawke to power was called. Hayden left politics to become Governor-General in 1988.

In 1996, the seat became most well-known for controversial social conservative MP Pauline Hanson who was elected as a Liberal-turned-independent, but the seat was heavily redistributed in 1997, splitting her main support base of Ipswich between Oxley and Blair. Hanson contested the seat of Blair, winning 36% of the primary vote but losing to the Liberals (who got 21%) under Australia's system of preferential voting.

Division of Oxley Video

Latest News : Division of Oxley : Tweet this RSS

Want to Division of Oxley latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Division of Oxley     sign in with twitter   ||  Australian_Electorate     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
Furness Rovers enjoying life at the top - NW Evening Mail Tweet this news
NW Evening Mail--Midfielder/striker Andrew -Oxley- is back from a broken ankle and pushing for a starting place. Defensive duo Paul Wrathall and Chris Lysons, Caskie and Steve ... - Date : Fri, 22 Oct 2010 13:33:11 GMT+00:00
Financial Oversight is Good Business for '84 Grad - University of Texas at Dallas (press release) Tweet this news
University of Texas at Dallas (press release)--For most of the corporate world, the 2002 passage of the Sarbanes--Oxley- Act�powerful legislation that reformed business practices�brought a deluge of ... - Date : Fri, 22 Oct 2010 01:09:46 GMT+00:00
Audit watchdog seeks to shed light on enforcement - Reuters Tweet this news
Reuters---...- said Claudius Modesti, director of the PCAOB's -division- of enforcement and investigations. Sarbanes--Oxley-, passed in 2002, created the oversight board ... - Date : Tue, 28 Sep 2010 19:01:55 GMT+00:00
MBO Partners Appoints VP of Implementations, David Cassar, for Enterprise ... - PR Web (press release) Tweet this news
PR Web (press release)--He has implemented a wide range of solutions including large ERP implementations, Sarbanes--Oxley- compliance, and the outsourcing of recruitment and staffing ... - Date : Thu, 14 Oct 2010 07:23:57 GMT+00:00
OECD Report Praises US Anti-Bribery Enforcement Efforts - Wall Street Journal Tweet this news
Wall Street Journal--In the report, the OECD praised relevant legislation passed since the last review, including new accounting standards in the Sarbanes--Oxley- Act of 2002 and ... - Date : Wed, 20 Oct 2010 17:15:57 GMT+00:00
Peak 10's Community Involvement Enables Children to Attend Summer Enrichment ... - dBusinessNews Charlotte (press release) Tweet this news
dBusinessNews Charlotte (press release)--Peak 10 is SSAE 16 audited and helps companies meet the requirements of various regulatory compliance acts such as Sarbanes--Oxley- (SOX), HIPAA, ... - Date : Thu, 21 Oct 2010 23:58:58 GMT+00:00

Member Party Term
  Donald A. Cameron Liberal 1949 � 1961
  Bill Hayden Labor 1961 � 1988
  Les Scott Labor 1988 � 1996
  Pauline Hanson Independent 1996 � 1997
  One Nation 1997 � 1998
  Bernie Ripoll Labor 1998 � present

Electoral Divisions of the Australian House of Representatives in Queensland

Blair * Bonner * Bowman * Brisbane * Capricornia * Dawson * Dickson * Fadden * Fairfax * Fisher * Flynn * Forde * Griffith * Groom * Herbert * Hinkler * Kennedy * Leichhardt * Lilley * Longman * Maranoa * McPherson * Moncrieff * Moreton * Oxley * Petrie * Rankin * Ryan * Wide Bay 'Abolished': Darling Downs * Oxley (1901-34) 'Future': Wright

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting | USA Yellow Pages