AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Division of Bowman

Division of Bowman
Division of Bowman (green) within Queensland
CaptionDivision of Bowman (green) within Queensland
MpAndrew Laming
Mp-partyLiberal National
NamesakeDavid Bowman
ClassOuter Metropolitan

     Home | Australian Electorate | Division of Bowman

The Division of Bowman is an Australian Electoral Division in Queensland. The division was created in 1949 and is named for David Bowman, an early leader of the Australian Labor Party, in Queensland. The seat is located in the eastern suburbs of Brisbane, and currently includes the suburbs of Capalaba, Cleveland, Redland Bay, Birkdale, Thorneside, Alexandra Hills, Thornlands, Mount Cotton, Cornubia, Ormiston, Wellington Point and Victoria Point. The division also incorporates various islands of Moreton Bay including Coochiemudlo the inhabited southern Bay Islands (Russell, Karragarra, Macleay and Lamb) as well as the big tourist destination of North Stradbroke.

It is generally a residential electorate with some crops, poultry, various light industries and tourism.

Bowman has traditionally been a highly marginal seat, regularly changing hands between the Australian Labor Party and the Liberal Party. Notably, the electorate has been won by the party with the largest national two party preferred vote at every election from 1954 to 2001 (except 1990). However, in the 2004 Federal Election, an energetic campaign by Dr Andrew Laming, and an electoral redistribution (due to the creation of the new Division of Bonner), saw Bowman returned to the Liberal Party by a significant margin (59.12% two party preferred) and the division was then considered by pollsters such as Antony Green to be a fairly safe Liberal seat.

In the 2007 Federal Election the electorate experienced a strong swing of 8.86% towards the Australian Labor Party. Incumbent Liberal MP Andrew Laming held the seat by 0.04%, or 64 votes. Following the 2007 election, it was second only to McEwen as the most marginal seat in the country, although the 2009 electoral redistribution in Queensland saw the margin notionally reduced even further to effectively 0.005%, making Bowman the most marginal seat in the country.

Division of Bowman Video

Latest News : Division of Bowman : Tweet this RSS

Want to Division of Bowman latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Division of Bowman     sign in with twitter   ||  Australian_Electorate     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
Office Space Market Still in Recession - Patch Tweet this news
Patch--Software developer Allen Systems Group inked a 26394-square-foot lease at RiverView at Purchase (287 -Bowman- Ave.). The company opted to move its Westchester ... - Date : Mon, 25 Oct 2010 10:01:36 GMT+00:00
Time Warner Cable, ESPN Put 'Monday Night Football' Online for Subscribers - Wall Street Journal Tweet this news
Wall Street Journal--Bob -Bowman-, chief executive of Major League Baseball's digital media -division-, said he has doubts that ESPN's model will work. He thinks the decision by ... - Date : Mon, 25 Oct 2010 15:47:52 GMT+00:00
UNCP, WSSU eyeing playoffs - Winston-Salem Journal Tweet this news
Winston-Salem Journal---...- plays UNC Pembroke at what is expected to be a sold-out -Bowman- Gray Stadium. The winner will keep alive its chances to make the -Division- II playoffs. ... - Date : Sat, 23 Oct 2010 04:26:46 GMT+00:00
Bowman better pick for open seat in Iowa Senate - Dubuque Telegraph Herald Tweet this news
Dubuque Telegraph Herald---...- and athletics inform their candidacies -- as a -Division- I college basketball player in the case of Naeve, and as a veteran teacher and coach for -Bowman-. ... - Date : Wed, 20 Oct 2010 15:18:57 GMT+00:00
Grapevine: Trader Joe's may be interested in Charleston - Charleston Post Courier Tweet this news
Charleston Post Courier--It cut the ribbon on its new Mount Pleasant digs off -Bowman- Road in March 2009. The site, valued at about $7 million, oversees Charleston, Savannah and ... - Date : Mon, 25 Oct 2010 04:02:10 GMT+00:00

Member Party Term
  Malcolm McColm Liberal 1949 � 1961
  Jack Comber Labor 1961 � 1963
  Wylie Gibbs Liberal 1963 � 1969
  Leonard Keogh Labor 1969 � 1975
  David Jull Liberal 1975 � 1983
  Leonard Keogh Labor 1983 � 1987
  Con Sciacca Labor 1987 � 1996
  Andrea West Liberal 1996 � 1998
  Con Sciacca Labor 1998 � 2004
  Andrew Laming Liberal 2004 � 2010
  Liberal National 2010 � present

Electoral Divisions of the Australian House of Representatives in Queensland

Blair * Bonner * Bowman * Brisbane * Capricornia * Dawson * Dickson * Fadden * Fairfax * Fisher * Flynn * Forde * Griffith * Groom * Herbert * Hinkler * Kennedy * Leichhardt * Lilley * Longman * Maranoa * McPherson * Moncrieff * Moreton * Oxley * Petrie * Rankin * Ryan * Wide Bay 'Abolished': Darling Downs * Oxley (1901-34) 'Future': Wright

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting | USA Yellow Pages