AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

List of Governors of Arizona

List of Governors of Arizona
InsigniacaptionSeal of Arizona
IncumbentJan Brewer
IncumbentsinceJanuary 21, 2009
StyleThe Honorable
TermlengthFour years, can succeed self once; eligible again after 4-year respite
InauguralGeorge W. P. Hunt
ResidenceNo official residence
FormationFebruary 14, 1912
Salary$95,000 (2009)

     Home | Political post | List of Governors of Arizona

The Governor of Arizona is the head of the executive branch of Arizona's government and the commander-in-chief of the state's military forces. The governor has a duty to enforce state laws, and the power to either approve or veto bills passed by the Arizona Legislature, to convene the legislature, and to grant pardons, except in cases of treason and impeachment.

Twenty-two people have served as governor over 26 distinct terms. All of the repeat governors were in the state's earliest years, when George W. P. Hunt and Thomas Edward Campbell alternated as governor for 17 years and, after a two-year gap, Hunt served another term. One governor was successfully impeached, Evan Mecham, and one resigned upon being convicted of a felony, Fife Symington III. The longest-serving governor was Hunt, who was elected seven times and served just under fourteen years. The longest single stint was Bruce Babbitt's, who was elected to two 4-year terms after succeeding to the office due to the death of his predecessor, serving nearly nine years total. Wesley Bolin had the shortest term, dying less than five months after succeeding to the office. Arizona has had four female governors, the most in the United States, and is the only state where there have been consecutive female governors. Due to a string of deaths in office, resignations, and an impeachment, Arizona has not had a governor whose terms began and ended due to "normal" election circumstances since Jack Richard Williams left office in 1975. The current governor is Jan Brewer, who took office on January 21, 2009, upon the resignation of Janet Napolitano, and was elected to a full term in 2010. Her term will expire on January 5, 2015.


Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260