AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Huon Valley Council

Huon Valley Council
Huon Valley Council
(Macquarie Island not shown on map)
Australian Place
NameHuon Valley Council
Area5497 km2 2121.8 sq mi
MayorRobert Armstrong
Council SeatHuonville
RegionHuonville, Huon Valley, and Macquarie Island
State DistrictFranklin
Federal DivisionFranklin

     Home | Australian Place | Huon Valley Council

The Huon Valley Council is a Local Government Area of Tasmania. It is the southern-most local government area in Australia.

It encompasses the town of Huonville, on the Huon River, some surrounding towns, and many protected areas and forestry plantations. The Tahune Airwalk is also in the area, located near the township of Geeveston.

In 1993 the Municipalites of Esperance, Huon and Port Cygnet were amalgamated to form the Huon Valley Council. Remote subantarctic Macquarie Island, which is located some 1400 km southeast of Tasmania proper, was part of Esperance until then, and has been part of Huon Valley since then.

The municipality has seven townships:


#Dover (on Esperance Bay)



#Port Huon

#Glen Huon


For election purposes, Huon Valley is un-subdivided. Councillors serve divided four year terms, with elections every two years using the Hare-Clark system of proportional representation. The terms of four Councillors expire at one two yearly election, and the terms of five Councillors expire at the other. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are each directly elected for a two year term. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor must also be elected Councillors. Unless a non-retiring Councillor they are ineligible to hold the position of Mayor or Deputy Mayor if they fail to win election to a Councillor position as well. The current composition of the Council, with place of residence, is:

* Mayor for a term expiring 2011: Robert Armstrong (Cygnet)

* Deputy Mayor for a term expiring 2011: Bruce Heron (Grove)

Elected 2007 for a term expiring 2011:

* Robert Armstrong (Cygnet)

* Liz Smith (Cygnet)

* Ian Paul (Judbury)

* Gary Doyle (Dover)

Elected 2009 for a term expiring 2013:

* Bruce Heron (Grove)

* Mike Wilson (Port Huon)

* Tony Duggan (Huonville)

* Rohan Gudden (Cygnet)

* Rosalie Woodruff (Cygnet)

Neither the Australian Labor Party nor the Liberal Party of Australia endorse local government candidates in Tasmania. Most councillors are non-partisan. Two Councillors, Liz Smith and Rosalie Woodruff, are members of the Australian Greens.

Huon Valley Council has one of the highest birth rates in all of Australia, although the Total Fertility Rate (TFR) went down from 2.60 in 2001 to 2.35 in 2006.

Huon Valley Council Video

Huon Valley Council and the Southern Water Corproation are still planning to lay a huge water pipe along the banks of our historic canal. They keep changing the design, so I keep changing my video. I understand they are not pleased with me. Funnily enough, I am not particularly pleased with them
0.70 min. | 0 user rating
Huon Valley Council has granted a development application to Southern Water to lay a water pipeline right through the historic canal running through Egg Island, Franklin. This canal was partially dug in the 1820's and finished in the 1860's and is the second oldest canal in Australia. It is an enchanting place, with no sign of human presence since the canal was dug. This will change dramatically if this pipeline is allowed to proceed. And yes, there are perfectly good alternative sites for the pipeline.
1.02 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Huon Valley Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Huon Valley Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Huon Valley Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Australian_Place     sign in with twitter   ||  Region     sign in with twitter
Derwent Valley Council's wish list - ABC Online Tweet this news
ABC Online--He is also seeking funding for a 24-hour roster of nurse practitioners at the New Norfolk District Hospital and funding to seal the log-truck link road between the -Huon Valley- and the Derwent -Valley-. The Derwent -Valley Council- expects x- - Date : Mon, 28 Feb 2011 04:27:15 GMT+00:00
Wallaby remains dumped - Tasmania Mercury Tweet this news
Tasmania Mercury--He said he tried to contact -Huon Valley Council's- ranger and police but they did not return calls. "The only person who seemed interested was the Parks and ... - Date : Sun, 12 Sep 2010 23:05:19 GMT+00:00

Local Government Areas of Tasmania grouped by areas

CentralCentral Highlands * Northern Midlands * Southern Midlands
Hobart areaBrighton * City of Clarence * City of Glenorchy * City of Hobart * Kingborough * Sorell
Launceston areaCity of Launceston * George Town * Meander Valley * West Tamar
North-east areaBreak O'Day * Dorset * Flinders
North-west and west coastCentral Coast * Circular Head * City of Burnie * City of Devonport * Kentish * King Island * Latrobe * Waratah-Wynyard * West Coast
South-east areaDerwent Valley * Glamorgan Spring Bay * Huon Valley * Tasman

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting | USA Yellow Pages