AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share


General information
Common nameTanzania
Local name 
Motto"Uhuru na Umoja" (Swahili)
"Freedom and Unity"
AnthemMungu ibariki Afrika
"God Bless Africa"
Largest cityDar es Salaam
Official languagesSwahili (de facto)
English (Higher courts, higher education)
GovernmentFederal Republic
PresidentJakaya Kikwete
Prime MinisterMizengo Pinda
IndependenceIndependence (from the United Kingdom)
Tanganyika9 December 1961
Zanzibar10 December 1963
Merger26 April 1964
Total Area364898 sq mi (945085.8 km2) (31st)
Water %6.2
Population Est.43739000 (30th)
Population census34443603 (2003)
Density (pop.)46.3/km2 (124th) (119.9/sq mi)
GDP PPP$57.400 billion (2009)
GDP (PPP) per capita$1,416
GDP (nominal)$22.318 billion (2009)
GDP (nominal) per capita$550
Other information
Gini34.6 (2000 01) (medium)
HDI(+) 0.398 (2010) (low) (151st)
CurrencyTanzanian shilling (TZS)
Time zoneEAT (UTC+3)
- Summer (DST)not observed (UTC+3)
Drives on theleft
Calling code+2552

     Home | Country | Tanzania

The United Republic of Tanzania (c-eniconˌtænzəˈniːə ) is a country in East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. The country's eastern borders lie on the Indian Ocean.

Tanzania is a state composed of 26 regions (mikoa), including those of the autonomous region of Zanzibar. The head of state is President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, elected in 2005. Since 1996, the official capital of Tanzania has been Dodoma, where Parliament and some government offices are located. Between independence and 1996, the main coastal city of Dar es Salaam served as the country's political capital. Today, Dar es Salaam remains the principal commercial city of Tanzania and the de facto seat of most government institutions. It is the major seaport for the country and its landlocked neighbours.

The name Tanzania derives from the names of the two states Tanganyika and Zanzibar that united in 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, which later the same year was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260