AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Monarchy in Alberta

Monarchy in Alberta
Royal TitleQueen in Right
CoatofarmsAlberta coat of arms.svg
Coatofarms ArticleCoat of arms of Alberta
IncumbentElizabeth II
Queen of Canada
Incumbentsince6 February 1952
First MonarchEdward VII
Date1 September 1905

     Home | Monarchy | Monarchy in Alberta

By the arrangements of the Canadian federation, Canada's monarchy operates in Alberta as the core of the province's Westminster-style parliamentary democracy. As such, the Crown within Alberta's jurisdiction is referred to as the Crown in Right of Alberta, Her Majesty in Right of Alberta, or The Queen in Right of Alberta. The Constitution Act, 1867, however, leaves many royal duties in Alberta specifically assigned to the sovereign's viceroy, the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, whose direct participation in governance is limited by the conventional stipulations of constitutional monarchy.

Monarchy in Alberta Video
3.93 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Monarchy in Alberta : Tweet this RSS

Want to Monarchy in Alberta latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Monarchy in Alberta     sign in with twitter   ||  Monarchy     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter

Canadian monarchy

The CrownMonarchy of Canada * Monarchy in the Canadian provinces (BC AB SK MB ON QC NB NS PE NL) * List of Canadian monarchs * List of Royal Consorts of Canada * Canadian Royal Family
ViceroysGovernor General of Canada * List of Governors General of Canada * Lieutenant Governors in Canada * List of Lieutenant Governors in Canada (BC AB SK MB ON QC NB NS PE NL)
ConstitutionalQueen-in-Council * Queen-in-Parliament * Queen-on-the-Bench * Queen's peace * The Canadian Crown and the Canadian Forces * The Canadian Crown and Aboriginal peoples
LegalRoyal charter * Royal commissions * Crown corporations * Crown copyright * Queen's Printer * Crown Collection
Ceremonial and symbolicCanadian royal symbols * Title and style of the Canadian monarch * Chapels Royal * Royal tours of Canada
RelatedHistory of monarchy in Canada * Debate on the monarchy in Canada

Politics of the provinces and territories of Canada

This article is part of the series: Politics and government of Canada
Executive (The Crown)
Sovereign in the provincesBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL
Lieutenant GovernorsBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * NT
CommissionersYT * NT * NU
PremiersBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * YU * NT * NU
LegislaturesBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * YU * NT * NU
ElectionsBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * YU * NT * NU
Politics of Canada * Regions * Political culture * Foreign relations * Politics portal * Judiciary

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting