AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Monarchy in British Columbia

Monarchy in British Columbia
Royal TitleQueen in Right
RealmBritish Columbia
CoatofarmsCoat of Arms of British Columbia.png
Coatofarms ArticleCoat of arms of British Columbia
Incumbentsince6 February 1952
IncumbentElizabeth II
Queen of Canada
First MonarchQueen Victoria
Date20 July 1871
ResidenceGovernment House, Victoria

     Home | Monarchy | Monarchy in British Columbia

By the arrangements of the Canadian federation, Canada's monarchy operates in British Columbia as the core of the province's Westminster-style parliamentary democracy. As such, the Crown within British Columbia's jurisdiction is referred to as the Crown in Right of British Columbia, Her Majesty in Right of British Columbia, or the Queen in Right of British Columbia. The Constitution Act, 1867, however, leaves many royal duties in British Columbia specifically assigned to the sovereign's viceroy, the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, whose direct participation in governance is limited by the conventional stipulations of constitutional monarchy.

Monarchy in British Columbia Video
3.93 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Monarchy in British Columbia : Tweet this RSS

Want to Monarchy in British Columbia latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Monarchy in British Columbia     sign in with twitter   ||  Monarchy     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
Paseo de Coro Barangay democracy - Cebu Daily News Tweet this news
Cebu Daily News--In Greek, the word demokratia was coined from demos (people) and kratos (rule) used in the middle of the 5th century -BC- to describe the political systems ... - Date : Wed, 27 Oct 2010 00:50:40 GMT+00:00
Off with his 'ead: On the Expulsion of MLA Bob Simpson - Pacific Free Press Tweet this news
Pacific Free Press---British Columbia- suffers under an extreme party-based political system whereby voters get to vote once every four years, but for the next 1400 days are ... - Date : Fri, 08 Oct 2010 14:16:40 GMT+00:00
Point's key aim to promote cultural reconciliation - Tweet this news first I named Shxwtitostel and it is a traditional inland river canoe that I gifted to the people of -British Columbia-. In Halq'eméylem, Shxwtitostel ... - Date : Fri, 08 Oct 2010 05:28:46 GMT+00:00

Canadian monarchy

The CrownMonarchy of Canada * Monarchy in the Canadian provinces (BC AB SK MB ON QC NB NS PE NL) * List of Canadian monarchs * List of Royal Consorts of Canada * Canadian Royal Family
ViceroysGovernor General of Canada * List of Governors General of Canada * Lieutenant Governors in Canada * List of Lieutenant Governors in Canada (BC AB SK MB ON QC NB NS PE NL)
ConstitutionalQueen-in-Council * Queen-in-Parliament * Queen-on-the-Bench * Queen's peace * The Canadian Crown and the Canadian Forces * The Canadian Crown and Aboriginal peoples
LegalRoyal charter * Royal commissions * Crown corporations * Crown copyright * Queen's Printer * Crown Collection
Ceremonial and symbolicCanadian royal symbols * Title and style of the Canadian monarch * Chapels Royal * Royal tours of Canada
RelatedHistory of monarchy in Canada * Debate on the monarchy in Canada

Politics of the provinces and territories of Canada

This article is part of the series: Politics and government of Canada
Executive (The Crown)
Sovereign in the provincesBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL
Lieutenant GovernorsBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * NT
CommissionersYT * NT * NU
PremiersBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * YU * NT * NU
LegislaturesBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * YU * NT * NU
ElectionsBC * AB * SK * MB * ON * QC * NB * NS * PEI * NL * YU * NT * NU
Politics of Canada * Regions * Political culture * Foreign relations * Politics portal * Judiciary

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting