AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Western Australian Legislative Council

Background Color#8B0000
Text Color#FFFFFF
NameWestern Australian Legislative Council
House TypeUpper House
Leader1 TypePresident of the Council
Leader1Barry House
Political Groups1Labor Party, Liberal Party, National Party, The Greens WA
Meeting PlaceLegislative Council Chamber
Parliament House, Perth,
Western Australia, Australia

     Home | Legislature | Western Australian Legislative Council

The Legislative Council, or upper house, is one of the two chambers of parliament in the Australian state of Western Australia. Its central purpose is to act as a house of review for legislation passed through the lower house, the Legislative Assembly. It sits in Parliament House in the state capital, Perth.

The Legislative Council today has 36 members, elected for fixed four-year terms. Each member is elected under a proportional and preferential voting system using the single transferable vote method, and represents one of six multi-member regions. Each region elects six members. Under proportional representation, it is not unusual for a government, lacking a clear majority in the Legislative Council, to rely on the voting support of independent members and/or minor parties, such as The Greens, to pass legislation. As with all other Australian states and territories, voting is compulsory for all resident Australian citizens—and eligible British citizens (i.e., those permanently resident and on the electoral roll prior to the passage of the Australia Act) —who are over the legal voting age of 18.

Since only about 35 per cent of Western Australia's population is located in towns and small settlements across an area of over 2.6 million kilometres outside the Perth metropolitan area, until 2005 the state used a zonally weighted electoral system for both houses of parliament. This provided that the vote of a Perth citizen effectively counted for less than that of a rural voter.

On 20 May 2005, with the official enactment of the Electoral Amendment and Repeal Act 2005 (No.1 of 2005), the State was split into 6 regions by community of interest, 3 metropolitan and 3 rural, each electing 6 members to the Legislative council.

Western Australian Legislative Council Video

Latest News : Western Australian Legislative Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Western Australian Legislative Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Western Australian Legislative Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Legislature     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
The burqa: reject the fake 'feminism' of the right - Green Left Weekly Tweet this news
Green Left Weekly---...- not only in Europe and around the world, but also here in -Australia-. In the New South Wales -Legislative Council-, arch-fundamentalist Christian MLC Fred ... - Date : Sun, 10 Oct 2010 07:20:23 GMT+00:00
New trading hours for Perth - Sydney Morning Herald Tweet this news
Sydney Morning Herald--Retail stores will stay open later in metropolitan areas across -Western Australia- from November 1 but their doors will remain closed on Sundays. ... - Date : Thu, 30 Sep 2010 06:26:21 GMT+00:00

Government of Western Australia

ExecutiveMonarchy * Governor * Premier * Cabinet * Police
LegislativeParliament * Legislative Assembly * MLAs * Elections * Electoral districts * Legislative Council * MLCs
JudicialHigh Court of Australia * Supreme Court * District Court * Family Court * Magistrates Court * Other Courts and Tribunals

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting | USA Yellow Pages