Supreme Court of Illinois
AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Supreme Court of Illinois

Seal of Illinois
Court NameIllinois Supreme Court
CaptionSeal of Illinois
CountryIllinois Illinois,
(United States) US
LocationSpringfield, Illinois
AuthorityIllinois Constitution
AppealsSupreme Court of the United States
Terms10 years
ChiefjudgetitleChief Justice
ChiefjudgenameThomas R. Fitzgerald
TermstartMay 19, 2008

     Home | High Court | Supreme Court of Illinois

The Supreme Court of Illinois is the state supreme court of Illinois. The court's authority is granted in Article VI of the current Illinois Constitution, which provides for seven justices elected from the five appellate judicial districts of the state: Three justices from the First District (Cook County) and one from each of the other four districts. Each justice is elected for a term of ten years and the chief justice is elected by the court from its members for a three-year term.

Latest News : Supreme Court of Illinois : Tweet this RSS

Want to Supreme Court of Illinois latest news on your twitter account???     sign in with twitter
Supreme Court of Illinois    Add   ||   High_Court    Add   ||   Other    Add

Current Justices :
Name Party Joined Term Ends District Law school attended
Thomas R. Fitzgerald (Chief Justice)  Democratic 2000 2010 1st John Marshall Law School
Charles E. Freeman  Democratic 1990 2012 1st John Marshall Law School
Robert R. Thomas  Republican 2000 2010 2nd Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Thomas L. Kilbride  Democrat 2000 2010 3rd Antioch School of Law
Rita B. Garman  Republican 2001 2012 4th University of Iowa College of Law
Lloyd A. Karmeier  Republican 2004 2014 5th University of Illinois College of Law
Anne M. Burke  Democratic 2006 2018 1st Chicago-Kent College of Law

Highest judicial bodies in the United States

Federal courtSupreme Court of the United States * 1st Cir. * 2nd Cir. * 3rd Cir. * 4th Cir. * 5th Cir. * 6th Cir. * 7th Cir. * 8th Cir. * 9th Cir. * 10th Cir. * 11th Cir. * DC Cir. * Fed. Cir. * Armed Forces
State supreme courtsAlabama * Alaska * Arizona * Arkansas * California * Colorado * Connecticut * Delaware * Florida * Georgia * Hawaii * Idaho * Illinois * Indiana * Iowa * Kansas * Kentucky * Louisiana * Maine * Maryland * Massachusetts * Michigan * Minnesota * Mississippi * Missouri * Montana * Nebraska * Nevada * New Hampshire * New Jersey * New Mexico * New York * North Carolina * North Dakota * Ohio * Oklahoma (Civil) (Criminal) * Oregon * Pennsylvania * Rhode Island * South Carolina * South Dakota * Tennessee * Texas (Civil) (Criminal) * Utah * Vermont * Virginia * Washington * West Virginia * Wisconsin * Wyoming
Territorial supreme courtsAmerican Samoa * District of Columbia * Guam * Northern Mariana Islands * Puerto Rico * United States Virgin Islands
ObsoletePanama Canal Zone * Philippine Islands
Complete listCourts of the United States (Federal and state, all levels)

Privacy | Sitemap