AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Parliament of Canada

Background Color#CFB53B
Text Color#FFFFFF
NameParliament of Canada
Parlement du Canada
Legislature41st Canadian Parliament
Coa PicParl Canada.jpg
House TypeBicameral
House of Commons
Leader1 TypeMonarch
Leader1Elizabeth II
Election16 February 1952
Leader2 TypeGovernor General
Leader2David Lloyd Johnston
Election21 October 2010
Leader3 TypeSpeaker of the Senate
Leader3Noël Kinsella
Election38 February 2006
Leader4 TypeSpeaker of the House of Commons
Leader4Andrew Scheer
Election42 June 2011
308 MPs
105 Senators
Structure141st Can Senate.svg
Structure1 Res260px
Structure1 AltCurrent Structure of the Canadian Senate
Political Groups1 
Voting System1Appointment by the governor general on advice of the prime minister
House2House of Commons
Structure241st Can House.svg
Structure2 Res260px
Structure2 AltCurrent Structure of the Canadian House of Commons
Political Groups2 
Voting System2Plurality by constituency
Last Election22 May 2011
Session RoomCanada Parliament2.jpg
Session Res260px
Session AltParliament sits in the Centre Block in Ottawa
Meeting PlaceCentre Block
Parliament Hill
Ottawa, Ontario

     Home | Legislature | Parliament of Canada

The Parliament of Canada ( ) is the federal legislative branch of Canada, seated at Parliament Hill in the national capital, Ottawa. Formally, the body consists of the Canadian monarch-represented by her governor general-the Senate, and the House of Commons, each element having its own officers and organization. The governor general summons and appoints each of the 105 members of the upper house on the advice of the Prime Minister of Canada, while the 308 members of the lower house are directly elected by eligible voters in the Canadian populace, with each Member of Parliament representing a single electoral district.

By constitutional convention, the House of Commons is the dominant branch of parliament, the Senate and Crown rarely opposing its will. The Senate, thus, reviews legislation from a less partisan standpoint, and the monarch and viceroy provide the necessary Royal Assent to make bills into law and summon, prorogue, and dissolve parliament in order to call an election, as well as reading the Throne Speech. The current parliament, summoned by Governor General David Johnston on 2 June 2011, is the 41st since Confederation.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260