AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland and Labrador
NameNewfoundland and Labrador
FullnameProvince of Newfoundland and Labrador
Official LogoCoat of arms of Newfoundland and Labrador.png
CoatOfArmsCoat of arms of Newfoundland and Labrador.png
Flower Pitcher plant
Tree Black Spruce
Bird Atlantic Puffin
MottoQuaerite prime regnum Dei
English: Seek ye first the kingdom of God (Matthew 6:33)
OfficialLangEnglish (de facto)
DemonymNewfoundlander, Labradorian (see notes),
CapitalSt. John's
LargestCitySt. John's
LargestMetroSt. John's CMA
PremierKathy Dunderdale
ViceroyEdward Roberts
ViceroyJohn Crosbie
LegislatureNewfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly
PostalAbbreviationNL (formerly NF)
TotalArea Km2405212
LandArea Km2373872
WaterArea Km231340
Density Km21.26
GDP Year2008
GDP TotalC$31,277 million
GDP Rank9th
GDP Per CapitaC$61,670
GDP Per Capita Rank4th
AdmittanceDate31 March 1949
TimeZoneUTC−3.5 for Newfoundland
UTC−4 for Labrador (Black Tickle and North)

     Home | State | Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland and Labrador c-ennuːfən'lænd_ənd_'læbrədɔr is the easternmost province of Canada. Situated in the country's Atlantic region, it incorporates the island of Newfoundland and mainland Labrador (located northwest of the island) with a combined area of 405212 km2 (405212000000 m2). As of April 2011, the province's estimated population is 508,400. Approximately 94 percent of the province's population resides on the Island of Newfoundland (including its associated smaller islands), of which over half live on the Avalon Peninsula. The Island of Newfoundland has its own dialects of English, French, and Irish. The English dialect in Labrador is similar to that of Newfoundland. Labrador also has its own dialects of Innu-aimun and Inuktitut.

Newfoundland and Labrador's capital and largest city, St. John's, is Canada's 20th-largest Census Metropolitan Area, and is home to nearly 40 percent of the province's population. St. John's is the seat of government, home to the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador and the highest court in the jurisdiction, the Newfoundland and Labrador Court of Appeal.

A former colony and dominion of the United Kingdom, Newfoundland and Labrador became the tenth province to enter the Canadian Confederation on March 31, 1949, as Newfoundland. On December 6, 2001, an amendment was made to the Constitution of Canada to change the province's official name to Newfoundland and Labrador. In day-to-day conversation, however, Canadians generally still refer to the province itself as Newfoundland and to the region on the Canadian mainland as Labrador.

The name Newfoundland is derived from English as "New Found Land" (a translation from the Latin Terra Nova). The origin of Labrador is uncertain; it is credited to both João Fernandes Lavrador, a Portuguese explorer, and lavrador � a title meaning "landholder".

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260