AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Limburg (Netherlands)

Full nameLimburg
Native name langnl
Settlement typeProvince
AnthemIn 't Bronsgroen Eikenhout
Queen's CommissionerLéon Frissen (Limburg is the only province in the Netherlands that calls the queen's commissioner a governor.)
Total Area831.1 sq mi (2153 km2)
Water Area21.6 sq mi (56 km2)
Area rank9th
Total Population1131938 (6th) (2006)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (4th) (0/sq mi)
Other information
ISO 3166 codeNL-LI
Religion (2003)Roman Catholic 78%
Protestant 2%
Others 5%
Irreligion 15%

     Home | Dutch Province | Limburg (Netherlands)

Limburg (-nlˈlɪmˌbʏrx122 Limburg (Dutch and Limburgish: (Nederlands-)Limburg) is the southernmost of the twelve provinces of the Netherlands. It is located in the southeastern part of the country and bordered by the province of Gelderland to the north, Germany to the east, Belgium to the south and part of the west, and

the Dutch province of North Brabant partly to the west. Its capital is Maastricht.

Limburg has a highly distinct character. The social and economic trends which affected the province in recent decades generated a process of change and renewal which has enabled Limburg to transform its national peripheral location into a highly globalized regional nexus, linking the Netherlands to the Ruhr metro area and the southern part of the Benelux region. A less appreciated consequence of this international gateway location is rising international crime, often drugs-related, especially in the southernmost part of the province.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260