AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Groningen (province)

Full nameGroningen
Native name langnl
Settlement typeProvince
AnthemGrunnens Laid
Queen's CommissionerMax van den Berg
Total Area899 sq mi (2329 km2)
Water Area222.3 sq mi (576 km2)
Area rank8th
Total Population574042 (9th) (2006)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (9th) (0/sq mi)
Other information
ISO 3166 codeNL-GR
Religion (2005)Protestant 18.0%
Catholic 4.6%
Muslim 2.5%

     Home | Dutch Province | Groningen (province)

Groningen [-nl'ɣroːnɪŋə(n)] (Gronings: Grönnen; ) is the northeasternmost province of the Netherlands. In the east it borders the German state of Niedersachsen (districts of Leer and Emsland), in the south Drenthe, in the west Friesland and in the north the Wadden Sea. The capital of the province is the city of Groningen.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260