AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow

Personal data
Date of birth25 September 1860
Place of birthSouth Queensferry, West Lothian
United Kingdom
Date of death29 February 1908(age 47)
Place of deathPau, Pyrénées-Atlantiques
SpouseHersey Everleigh-de-Moleyns
ReligionChurch of Scotland
1st Governor-General of Australia
In office1 January 1901 - 9 January 1903
MonarchQueen Victoria
Edward VII
Succeeded byThe Lord Tennyson
Preceded byOffice Established
8th Governor of Victoria
In office28 November 1889 - 12 July 1895
MonarchQueen Victoria
Succeeded byThe Earl Brassey
Preceded byThe Lord Loch
Secretary for Scotland
In office2 February 1905 - 4 December 1905
Prime ministerArthur Balfour
Succeeded byJohn Sinclair
Preceded byAndrew Murray

     Home | Office Holder | John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow

John Adrian Louis Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow KT, GCMG, GCVO, PC (25 September 1860 � 29 February 1908), also known as Viscount Aithrie before 1873 and as The 7th Earl of Hopetoun between 1873 and 1902, was a Scottish aristocrat, politician and colonial administrator. He is best known for his brief and controversial tenure as the first Governor-General of Australia.

John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow Video

Latest News : John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow : Tweet this RSS

Want to John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
John Hope, 1st Marquess of Linlithgow     sign in with twitter   ||  Office_Holder     sign in with twitter   ||  Politics     sign in with twitter

Political offices
Preceded by
The Lord Thurlow
1886 - 1889
Succeeded by
The Lord Churchill
Preceded by
Charles Seale Hayne
1895 - 1899
Succeeded by
The Duke of Marlborough
Preceded by
The Earl of Lathom
Lord Chamberlain
1898 - 1900
Succeeded by
The Earl of Clarendon
Preceded by
Andrew Murray
Secretary for Scotland
Succeeded by
John Sinclair
Government offices
Preceded by
Sir Henry Loch
Governor of Victoria
1889 - 1895
Succeeded by
The Lord Brassey
Preceded by
Governor-General of Australia
1901 - 1903
Succeeded by
The Lord Tennyson
Peerage of the United Kingdom
New creationMarquess of Linlithgow
1902 - 1908
Succeeded by
Victor Hope
Preceded by
John Alexander Hope
Earl of Hopetoun
1873 - 1908

Governors-General of Australia

Hopetoun * Tennyson * Northcote * Dudley * Denman * Munro Ferguson * Forster * Stonehaven * Isaacs * Gowrie * Gloucester * McKell * Slim * Dunrossil * De L'Isle * Casey * Hasluck * Kerr * Cowen * Stephen * Hayden * Deane * Hollingworth * Jeffery * Bryce

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting | USA Yellow Pages