AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Western Province (Papua New Guinea)

Western Province (Papua New Guinea)
Full nameWestern Province
Official nameWestern Province
Other nameFly River Province
Settlement typeProvince
CountryPapua New Guinea
DistrictsNorth Fly
Middle Fly
South Fly
GovernorBob Danaya(2002-2012)
Total Area38329.8 sq mi (99300 km2)
Total Population153304 (2000)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (0/sq mi)
Other information
Time zoneAEST (UTC+10)

     Home | Papua New Guinea Province | Western Province (Papua New Guinea)

Western Province is a coastal province in southwestern Papua New Guinea, bordering the Indonesian province of Papua. The provincial capital is Daru, on the island of Daru. The largest town in the province is Tabubil. The provincial government has purported to change the name of the province to the Fly River Province but this remains unofficial as names of provinces are set out in the Constitution of Papua New Guinea and changes must be made according to the constitutional amending process.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260