AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

     Home | DavisCupinfobox | Spain Davis Cup team

The Spain Davis Cup team represents Spain in the Davis Cup tennis competition and are governed by the Real Federación Española de Tenis, presided over by José Luis Escañuela.

Spain has won the Davis Cup four times (2000, 2004, 2008 and 2009), and finished as runner-up three times (1965, 1967, 2003).

As of 2011, Spain has competed in the World Group for 15 consecutive years, and for 26 of the last 27 years, which make it historically one of the most powerful countries in the tennis world.

Spain defeated the Czech Republic in the 2009 final, held for the second time in Barcelona, by a score of 5 � 0 to claim their second consecutive title, and the fourth in ten years.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260