AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Parliament of India

Background Color#4682B4
Text Color#FFFFFF
NameParliament of India
Native Nameभारत की संसद
Transcription NameBhārat kī Sansad
Coa PicEmblem_of_India.svg
Coa Res125px
House TypeBicameral
HousesCouncil of States or Rajya Sabha
House of the People or Lok Sabha
Leader1 TypeChairman of the Rajya Sabha & Vice President of India
Leader1Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Election111 August 2007
Leader2 TypeSpeaker of the Lok Sabha
Leader2Meira Kumar
Election23 June 2009
Leader3 TypeLeader of the House (Lok Sabha)
Leader3Pranab Mukherjee
Election326 May 2009
Leader4 TypeLeader of Opposition (Lok Sabha)
Leader4Sushma Swaraj
Election421 December 2009
Leader5 TypeLeader of the House (Rajya Sabha)
Leader5Manmohan Singh
Election522 May 2004
Leader6 TypeLeader of Opposition (Rajya Sabha)
Leader6Arun Jaitley
Election63 June 2009
245 Members of RS
545 Members of LS
House1Rajya Sabha
House2Lok Sabha
Political Groups1Indian National Congress (INC)
Political Groups2Indian National Congress (INC)
Voting System1Proportional Representation
Voting System2First past the post
Last Election2Indian general election, 2009
Session RoomSansad Bhavan-2.jpg
Session Res250px
Meeting PlaceSansad Bhawan, New Delhi, India

     Home | Legislature | Parliament of India

The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body in India. Founded in 1919, the Parliament alone possesses legislative supremacy and thereby ultimate power over all political bodies in India. The Parliament of India comprises the President and the two Houses, Lok Sabha (House of the People) and Rajya Sabha (Council of States). The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha.

The parliament is bicameral, with an upper house called as Council of States or Rajya Sabha, and a lower house called as House of People or Lok Sabha. The two Houses meet in separate chambers in the Sansad Bhawan (located on the Sansad Marg), in New Delhi. The Members of either house are commonly referred to as Members of Parliament or MP. The MPs of Lok Sabha are elected by direct election and the MPs of Rajya Sabha are elected by the members of the State Legislative Assemblies and Union territories of Delhi and Pondicherry only in accordance with proportional voting. The Parliament is composed of 802 MPs, who serve the largest democratic electorate in the world and the largest trans-national democratic electorate in the world (714 million eligible voters in 2009).

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260