AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

New Mexico Senate

NameNew Mexico State Senate
LegislatureNew Mexico State Legislature
Term LimitsNone
New SessionJanuary 18, 2011
Session RoomInteriorOfRoundhouseSenateNM.jpg
House TypeUpper House
Leader1 TypePresident of the Senate
Leader1John Sanchez
Election1January 1, 2011
Leader2 TypePresident pro Tempore
Leader2Timothy Jennings
Election2January 20, 2009
Leader3 TypeMajority Leader
Leader3Michael Sanchez
Election3January 18, 2005
Leader4 TypeMinority Leader
Leader4Stuart Ingle
Election4January 16, 2007
Term Length4 years
AuthorityArticle IV, New Mexico Constitution
SalaryNone + per diem
Political Groups1Democratic Party (27)
Republican Party (15)
Last Election1November 4, 2008
(42 seats)
Next Election1November 6, 2012
(42 seats)
RedistrictingLegislative Control
Meeting PlaceState Senate Chamber
New Mexico State Capitol
Santa Fe, New Mexico

     Home | Legislature | New Mexico Senate

The New Mexico Senate is the upper house of the New Mexico State Legislature. The Senate consists of 42 members, with each senator representing an equal amount of single-member constituent districts across the state. All senatorial districts are divided to contain a population on average of 43,300 state residents. Members of the Senate are elected to four-year terms without term limits.

The Senate convenes at the New Mexico State Capitol building in Santa Fe.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260