AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Mississippi House of Representatives

NameMississippi House of Representatives
LegislatureMississippi State Legislature
Coa PicMississippi_State_Seal.png
Session RoomMississippi State Capitol building in Jackson.jpg
House TypeLower house
Term LimitsNone
New SessionJanuary 4, 2011
Leader1 TypeSpeaker of the House
Leader1Billy McCoy
Election1January 6, 2004
Leader2 TypeSpeaker pro Tempore
Leader2J. P. Compretta
Election2January 6, 2004
Leader3 TypeMajority Leader
Leader3Tyrone Ellis
Election3January 2, 2008
Leader4 TypeMinority Leader
Leader4Mark Baker
Election4January 2, 2008
Term Length4 years
AuthorityArticle IV, Mississippi Constitution
Salary$10,000/year + per diem
Last Election1November 6, 2007
(122 seats)
Next Election1November 8, 2011
(122 seats)
RedistrictingLegislative Control
Political Groups1Democratic Party (69)
Republican Party (53)
Meeting PlaceHouse of Representatives Chamber
Mississippi State Capitol
Jackson, Mississippi

     Home | Legislature | Mississippi House of Representatives

The Mississippi House of Representatives is the lower house of the Mississippi Legislature, the lawmaking body of the U.S. state of Mississippi.

According to the state constitution of 1890, this body is to comprise no more than 122 members elected for four-year terms (Art. 4, Sec. 34). To qualify as a member of the house candidates must (a) be at least 21 years old, (b) have been a resident of Mississippi for at least four years, and (c) have resided in the district in which he/she is running for at least two years (Art. 4, Sec. 41, Secs. 44 and 45). Current state law provides for the maximum number of members. Elections are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.

The Constitution also specifies that the legislature shall meet for 125 days every four years and 90 days in all other years (Art 4, Sec. 36).

The House also has the duty under the Mississippi Constitution to select the Governor of Mississippi if no candidate receives more than 50% of the vote. This has occurred only one time, in 1999 when Ronnie Musgrove was selected (Musgrove had the most votes statewide, but fell a fraction of a point shy of a majority).

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260