AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Republic of Macedonia

General information
Common namethe Republic of Macedonia
Local name 

Денес над Македонија
(English:  )
Largest citycapital
Official languagesMacedonian
Ethnic groups65.2% Macedonians,
24.2% Albanians,
3.9% Turks,
2.7% Roma,
4.0% others and unspecified (2002)
GovernmentParliamentary republic
PresidentGjorge Ivanov
Prime MinisterNikola Gruevski
Independence fromIndependence from (Yugoslavia)
Independence declared8 September 1991
Officially recognized8 April 1993
Total Area9779 sq mi (25327.6 km2) (148th)
Water %1.9%
Population Est.2055004 (142nd)
Population census2,022,547 (2002)
Density (pop.)79.1/km2 (113th) (205/sq mi)
GDP PPP$19.996 billion (2010)
GDP (PPP) per capita$9,728
GDP (nominal)$9.108 billion (2010)
GDP (nominal) per capita$4,431
Other information
Gini44.2 (2008) (medium)
HDI(+) 0.701 (2010) (high) (71st)
CurrencyMacedonian denar (MKD)
Time zoneCET (UTC+1)
- Summer (DST)CEST (UTC+2)
Drives on theright
Calling code389

     Home | Country | Macedonia

Macedonia (c-enaudio=en-us-Macedonia, officially the Republic of Macedonia ( , transliterated: Republika Makedonija -mkrɛˈpublika makɛˈdɔnijaMk-Republika Makedonija, is a country located in the central Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993 but, as a result of a dispute with Greece over its name, it was admitted under the provisional reference of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, sometimes abbreviated as FYROM.

A landlocked country, the Republic of Macedonia is bordered by Kosovo to the northwest, Serbia to the north, Bulgaria to the east, Greece to the south and Albania to the west. It constitutes approximately the northwestern half of the larger geographical region of Macedonia, which also comprises parts of Greece and Bulgaria. The country's capital is Skopje, with 506,926 inhabitants according to a 2002 census. Other cities include Bitola, Kumanovo, Prilep, Tetovo, Ohrid, Veles, Štip, Kočani, Gostivar and Strumica. It has more than 50 lakes and sixteen mountains higher than 2000 m (6561.7 ft). Macedonia is a member of the UN and the Council of Europe. Since December 2005 it has also been a candidate for joining the European Union and has applied for NATO membership.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260