AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

1st Division (Australia)

Military unit
Unit name1st Division
Founded3 August 1914 � March 1919
March 1921 � April 1944
April 1948 � Present
CountryAustralia Australia
BranchAustralian Army
Rolemain deployment force
Size5 Brigades
Garrison/HQBrisbane, Australia
Engagements* Battle of Gallipoli
(including the Landing at Anzac Cove and Battle of Lone Pine)
* Battle of the Somme (1916)
(including the Battle of Pozières, the Battle of Mouquet Farm and the Battle of Le Transloy)
* Battle of Arras
(including the Battle of Lagnicourt and the Second Battle of Bullecourt)
* Third Battle of Ypres
(including the Battle of Menin Road, the Battle of Broodseinde, the Battle of Poelcappelle, the First Battle of Passchendaele and the Second Battle of Passchendaele)
* Battle of Hazebrouck
* Battle of Amiens
* Battle of Épehy
MAJGEN Sir William Bridges
LTGEN James Legge
LTGEN Sir Talbot Hobbs
GEN Sir Harry Chauvel
MAJGEN Sir Thomas Glasgow
MAJGEN Herbert Lloyd

     Home | Military Unit | 1st Division (Australia)

The 1st Division is the main formation of the Australian Army and contains the majority of the army's regular forces. Its headquarters is in Enoggera, a suburb of Brisbane. At the request of HQJOC, First Division also has the role to stand up a Deployable Joint Force Headquarters (DJFHQ) for a Land based operation-this deployable HQ is a joint formation, comprising units of the RAN and the RAAF, as well as the army.

The division was first formed in 1914 as a part of the First Australian Imperial Force (1st AIF). It was part of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) during the Gallipoli campaign, and has existed in one form or another since.

1st Division (Australia) Video

This is the video that was shown at the opening ceremony for ANZBYC 2010 (Australia and New Zealand Buddhist youth conference). It shows a brief history of ANZBYC and also some footage of our preparations. Enjoy.
7.18 min. | 0 user rating
First night of liberty in Townsville Australia ends in a friendly fight
8.53 min. | 3.95 user rating

Latest News : 1st Division (Australia) : Tweet this RSS

Want to 1st Division (Australia) latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
1st Division (Australia)     sign in with twitter   ||  Military_Unit     sign in with twitter   ||  Government     sign in with twitter
High Point travels to East Carolina on Wednesday - HPU Panthers Tweet this news
HPU Panthers--It was his -first- appearance of the season. Steve Antolik went 3-5 with three doubles in the game. The Panthers are 14-10 against Duke all-time and 6-4 in the -Division- I era. Duke is 10-2 on the season and has won three in a row since los - Date : Wed, 09 Mar 2011 14:42:13 GMT+00:00
Oakwood vies for 1st wrestling title - Dayton Daily News Tweet this news
Dayton Daily News--Bellbrook's boys basketball team (12-4) has put itself in position for a high seed in the -Division- II sectional tournament draw Sunday. ... - Date : Fri, 11 Feb 2011 06:25:47 GMT+00:00
Missouri Guardsman killed in Afghanistan - Jefferson City News Tribune Tweet this news
Jefferson City News Tribune--He was assigned to -1st- Squadron, 61st Cavalry, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 101st Airborne -Division- of Fort Campbell, Ky. “Sgt. -1st- Class Pharris was the most ... - Date : Wed, 12 Jan 2011 23:47:07 GMT+00:00
Biden joins service members for breakfast - DVIDS Tweet this news
DVIDS---...- Sgt. -1st- Class Shane Wrage, a Polk City, Iowa, resident and an Afghan National Police liaison with the 2nd Brigade Combat Team, 34th Infantry -Division-, ... - Date : Wed, 12 Jan 2011 23:49:14 GMT+00:00
Rams dealt 1st loss by Falcons - The Mercury Tweet this news
The Mercury--That topped off a second-half comeback by the Falcons (3-2 PAC-10 Frontier -Division-, 6-5 overall), who trailed the entire -first- half (except for a 1-0 edge) ... - Date : Tue, 11 Jan 2011 11:08:20 GMT+00:00

World War I : Memorial
Battle Honour Description
Poziere's Battle of Pozieres
Mouquet Farm Battle of Mouquet Farm
Le Barque Fortified villages that were part of a German reserve line, and used by the Germans as a delaying position during the retreat to Hindenburg Line.
Boursies Fortified villages that were part of the Outpost Line of the Hindenburg Line. They were captured to allow a direct attack on the Hindenburg Line (before the Hindenburg Line was further strengthened).
Lagnicourt Battle of Lagnicourt
Bullecourt Second Battle of Bullecourt
3rd Battle of Ypres The 3rd Battle of Ypres, not including the Battles of Menin Road, Broodseinde Ridge, Poelcappelle and 2nd Passchendaele.
Menin Road Battle of Menin Road
Broodseinde Ridge Battle of Broodseinde
Passchendaele Battle of Poelcappelle and Second Battle of Passchendaele
Battle of Lys Stopping the Georgette Offensive on 14 and 17 April (also known as the Battle of Hazebrouck).
2nd Battle of Somme The 2nd Battle of the Somme, not including fighting in and around Lihon and Chuignolles.
Lihons Scene of intense fighting around, and eventual capture of, Lihons.
Chuignolles Scene of intense fighting around Chuignes Valley, culminating in the capture of Chuignolles.
Hindenburg Line Similar to Boursies/Demicourt/Hermies, fighting to capture the fortified Outpost Villages in the Battle of Épehy, and reach the main Hindenburg Line.

World War II :
Date commenced Date ended Commander Note(s)
26 October 1914 15 May 1915 BridgesMAJGEN Sir William Bridges > Fatally wounded in action (Gallipoli), died 18 May 1915
15 May 1915 22 June 1915 WalkerBRIG GEN Harold Walker > Temporary command
22 June 1915 26 July 1915 LeggeMAJGEN James Legge > Serving as Chief of the General Staff when appointed. Transferred to command 2nd Division.
26 July 1915 13 October 1915 WalkerBRIG GEN Harold Walker > Wounded in action on 13 October 1915.
13 October 1915 6 November 1915 HobbsBRIG GEN Sir Talbot Hobbs > Evacuated with dysentery 6 November 1915.
6 November 1915 14 March 1916 ChauvelMAJGEN Sir Harry Chauvel >
14 March 1916 31 May 1918 WalkerMAJGEN Harold Walker > Replaced when it was decreed only Australians were to serve in positions of higher command in Australian Corps.
31 May 1918 1919? GlasgowMAJGEN Sir Thomas Glasgow >
1939 JacksonMAJGEN Robert Jackson >
1940 1941 FewtrellMAJGEN Albert Fewtrell >
1942 1942 ClowesMAJGEN Cyril Clowes >
1942 1943 DerhamMAJGEN Francis Derham >
1943 1946 LloydMAJGEN Herbert Lloyd >
1977 1979 BennettMAJGEN Phillip Bennett >
1998 1999 CosgroveMAJGEN Peter Cosgrove >
  MolanMAJGEN Jim Molan >
2002 2004 JacksonMAJGEN Mark Evans >
2004 2005 KellyMAJGEN Mark Kelly >
  6 July 2007 PowerMAJGEN Ash Power >
6 July 2007 2009 WilsonMAJGEN Richard Wilson >
2009 Incumbent SlaterMAJGEN Michael Slater >

Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC)

Expeditionary Forces
1st Australian Imperial Force (1st AIF) * Australian Naval and Military Expeditionary Force (AN&MEF) * 1st New Zealand Expeditionary Force (1st NZEF)
Australian and New Zealand Army Corps * I ANZAC Corps * II ANZAC Corps * Australian Corps * Desert Mounted Corps
1st * 2nd * 3rd * 4th * 5th * 6th * Australian Mounted Division * ANZAC Mounted Division
New Zealand
New Zealand Division * New Zealand and Australian Division
1st * 2nd * 3rd * 4th * 5th * 6th * 7th * 8th * 9th * 10th * 11th * 12th * 13th * 14th * 15th * 16th * 17th * 1st Light Horse * 2nd Light Horse * 3rd Light Horse * 4th Light Horse * 5th Light Horse
New Zealand
New Zealand Rifle Brigade * New Zealand Mounted Rifles Brigade

Australian Army Divisions in World War II

1st Division * 2nd Division * 3rd Division * 4th Division * 5th Division * 10th Division *
11th Division * 12th Division * 2nd Armoured Division * 3rd Armoured Division Australian Imperial Force
6th Division * 7th Division * 8th Division * 9th Division * 1st Armoured Division

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting | USA Yellow Pages