AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

ECA Headquarters, Addis Ababa
NameUnited Nations Economic Commission for Africa
TypePrimary Organ - Regional Branch
CaptionECA Headquarters, Addis Ababa
HeadquartersAddis Ababa, Ethiopia
HeadExecutive Secretary of ECA
Abdoulie Janneh (2005- )

     Home | UN | United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA or ECA) was established in 1958 by the United Nations Economic and Social Council to encourage economic cooperation among its member states (the nations of the African continent) following a recommendation of the United Nations General Assembly.

It is one of five regional commissions.

The ECA has 53 member states corresponding to the 53 member states of the United Nations that lie within the continent of Africa.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260