AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Texas Senate

NameTexas State Senate
LegislatureTexas State Legislature
Coa PicSeal of State Senate of Texas.svg
Session RoomTexasSenateChamberAustinTX.JPG
House TypeUpper house
Term LimitsNone
New SessionJanuary 11, 2011
Structure2Texas Senate Seating Diagram.svg
Structure2 Res200px
Leader1 TypePresident of the Senate
Leader1David Dewhurst
Election1January 21, 2003
Leader2 TypePresident Pro Tempore
Leader2Steve Ogden
Election2January 11, 2011
Term Length4 years
AuthorityArticle 3, Texas Constitution
Salary$7,200/year + per diem
Last Election1November 2, 2010
(16 seats)
Next Election1November 6, 2012
(15 seats)
RedistrictingLegislative Control
Political Groups1Republican Party (19)
Democratic Party (12)
Meeting PlaceState Senate Chamber
Texas State Capitol
Austin, Texas

     Home | Legislature | Texas Senate

The Texas Senate is the upper house of the Texas Legislature. There are 31 members of the Senate, representing 31 single-member districts across the state with populations of approximately 672,000 per constituency. There are no term limits, and each term is four years long. The Senate meets at the Texas State Capitol in Austin. The Republicans currently control the chamber, which is made up of 19 Republicans and 12 Democrats.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260