AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Texas Rangers (baseball)

Texas Rangers (baseball)
Major league affiliations
American League (1961 - present)
West Division (1972 - present)
Retired numbers26, 34, 42
ColorsRed, White, And Blue      
Texas Rangers (1972 - present)
Washington Senators (1961 1971)
Other nicknamesThe Blue Crew
Rangers Ballpark in Arlington (1994 - present)
:*a.k.a. Ameriquest Field in Arlington (2004 2006) :*a.k.a. The Ballpark in Arlington (1994 2004) *Arlington Stadium (1972 1993) *RFK Stadium (Washington, DC) (1962 1971) :*a.k.a. D.C. Stadium (1962 1968) *Griffith Stadium (Washington, DC) (1961)
Major league titles
World Series titlesNone
AL Pennants2010 ((1))
West Division titles2011 • 2010199919981996 ((5) *)
Wild card berthsNone ((0))
* In 1994, a players' strike wiped out the last eight weeks of the season and all post-season. Texas was in first place by two games in the West Division when play was stopped. No official titles were awarded in 1994.
OwnerRangers Baseball Express, LLC, Nolan Ryan, CEO & President
ManagerRon Washington

     Home | Baseball | Texas Rangers (baseball)

The Texas Rangers are a professional baseball team in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, based in Arlington, Texas. The Rangers are a member of the Western Division of Major League Baseball's American League, and are the reigning A.L. Western Division and A.L. Champions. From 1994 to the present, the Rangers have played in Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, located in Arlington, Texas. The team's name is borrowed from the famous law enforcement agency of the same name.

The franchise originated in 1961 as the Washington Senators, an expansion team awarded to Washington, D.C. after the city's first ballclub, the original Washington Senators, relocated to Minnesota and became the Twins. After the 1971 season, the new Senators moved to Arlington, Texas and debuted as the Rangers the following spring.

The Texas Rangers Baseball Club has made four appearances in the MLB postseason, all following division championships in 1996, 1998, 1999, and 2010, and will also appear in the 2011 postseason as the division champions. In 2010, the Rangers advanced past the Division Series for the first time in franchise history, defeating the Tampa Bay Rays. Texas then brought home their first American League Pennant after besting the New York Yankees in 6 games. In the 2010 World Series, the franchise's first, the Rangers fell to the San Francisco Giants in five games. Having won a game, the team became the first Texas MLB team to win a World Series game, the Houston Astros having been swept in their 2005 World Series appearance.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260