AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Swiss Federal Council

Swiss Federal Council
PostFederal Council
InsigniaLogo der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft.svg
IncumbentJohann Schneider-Ammann
Didier Burkhalter
Doris Leuthard
Micheline Calmy-Rey (President 2011)
Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf (Vice President 2011)
Ueli Maurer
Simonetta Sommaruga
(Federal Chancellor Corina Casanova also pictured)
Inaugural12 December 2007
AppointerUnited Federal Assembly
Termlength4 years, no term limit

     Home | Political post | Swiss Federal Council

The Federal Council ( , , , ) is the seven-member executive council which constitutes the federal government of Switzerland and serves as the Swiss collective head of state.

While the entire council is responsible for leading the federal administration of Switzerland, each Councillor heads one of the seven federal executive departments. The current members of the Federal Council are, in order of seniority:

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260