AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

     Home | Northern Ireland district | Strabane District Council

Strabane District Council ( , Ulster Scots: Stràbane Destrìck Cooncil) is a Local Council in County Tyrone in Northern Ireland. The headquarters of the Council is in the town of Strabane. Apart from Strabane the other smaller towns in the area include Plumbridge, Newtownstewart, Donemana, Sion Mills and Castlederg. Also included in the Strabane District Council area are the following rural areas: Glenmornan, Evish, Glebe, Artigarvan, Ballymagorry.

The Strabane District Council area consists of three electoral areas: Derg, Glenelly and Mourne from which 16 members are elected. At the last elections in 2005 members were elected from the following political parties: 8 Sinn Féin, 3 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), 2 Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP), 2 Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) and 1 Independent Nationalist. The current Council Chairperson is Councillor Michaela Boyle (Sinn Féin) and the Vice Chair is Councillor Thomas Kerrigan (DUP)

Strabane District Council Video
3.93 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Strabane District Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Strabane District Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Strabane District Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Northern_Ireland_district     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter

Party seats change +/-
Sinn Féin 8 +1
Democratic Unionist Party 3 =
Ulster Unionist Party 2 =
Social Democratic and Labour Party 2 -2
Independent 1 +1

Local authorities of Northern Ireland

Antrim * Ards * Armagh * Ballymena * Ballymoney * Banbridge * Belfast * Carrickfergus * Castlereagh * Coleraine * Cookstown * Craigavon * Derry * Down * Dungannon and South Tyrone * Fermanagh * Larne * Limavady * Lisburn * Magherafelt * Moyle * Newry and Mourne * Newtownabbey * North Down * Omagh * Strabane

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting