AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share


Full nameQuito
Official nameSan Francisco de Quito
Settlement typeCapital city of Ecuador
FoundationDecember 6, 1534
Sebastián de Benalcázar
Named forQuitu
TypeMayor and council
Governing bodyMunicipality of Quito
MayorAugusto Barrera
City councilList of councilmembers
Luis Caicedo
Fernando Carrión
Luz Elena Coloma
Sergio Garnica
María Hernández
Carmen Elena de Janón
Carlos Jaramillo
Javier Jiménez
Indira Medina
Gonzalo Ortiz
Ramiro Pérez
Pablo Ponce
Patricia Ruiz
Patricio Alejandro Ubidia
Macarena Valarezo
Total Area125.1 sq mi (324 km2)
Water Area0 sq mi (0 km2)
Metro Area1622.7 sq mi (4204 km2)
Elevation9350 ft (2849.9 m)
Total Population2697698 (2011)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (0/sq mi)
Metro (pop.)3342201
Other information
Time zoneECT (UTC-5)
Postal codeEC1701 (new format), P01 (old format)
Area code(0)2

     Home | City | Quito

San Francisco de Quito, most often called Quito (-esˈkito), is the capital city of Ecuador in northwestern South America. It is located in north-central Ecuador in the Guayllabamba river basin, on the eastern slopes of Pichincha, an active stratovolcano in the Andes mountains. With a population of 2,197,698 according to the last census (2001), and, as estimated by the municipality, approximately 2,504,991 in 2005, Quito is the second most populous city in Ecuador, after Guayaquil. It is also the capital of the Pichincha province and the seat of Metropolitan District of Quito. The canton recorded a population of 1,842,201 residents in the 2001 national census. In 2008, the city was designated as the headquarters of the Union of South American Nations.

The elevation of the city's central square (Plaza de La Independencia or Plaza Grande) is 2800 m (9186.4 ft), making Quito the second-highest administrative capital city in the world (after La Paz, Bolivia), and the highest legal capital (ahead of Sucre, also in Bolivia, and Bogotá, Colombia).

The central square of Quito is located about 25 km (15.5 mi) south of the equator; the city itself extends to within about 1 km (0.6 mi) of zero latitude. A monument and museum marking the general location of the equator is known locally as la mitad del mundo (the middle of the world), to avoid confusion, as the word is Spanish for equator.

Quito, along with Kraków, were the first World Cultural Heritage Sites declared by UNESCO in 1978.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260