AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Quezon City

Quezon City
Full nameQuezon City
Official nameQuezon City
Native nameLungsod Quezon
Settlement typeCity
RegionNational Capital Region
Districts1st to 4th districts of Quezon City
Incorporated (town)October 12, 1939
(as Diliman Estate)
Incorporated (city)October 12, 1939
(By virtue of Commonwealth Act No. 502 as amended by Commonwealth Act No. 659 and Republic Act Nos. 333, 537, and 1575)
MayorHerbert B. Bautista (Liberal)
Vice MayorJoy Belmonte (Liberal)
Sangguniang PanlungsodCouncilors
1st District
Francisco Calalay, Jr.
Dorothy Delarmente
Anthony Peter Crisologo
Ricardo Belmonte, Jr.
Joseph Juico
Alexis Herrera
2nd District
Precious Hipolito-Castelo
Alfred Vargas
Eden Delilah Medina
Julienne Alyson Rae Medalla
Roderick Paulate
Goodfredo Liban II
3rd District
Julian Coseteng
Allan Benedict Reyes
Jaime Borres
Jose Mario Don De Leon
Gian Sotto
Eufermo Lagumbay
4th District
Edcel Lagman, Jr.
Jesus Suntay
Jessica Daza
Raquel Malangen
Vincent Eric Belmonte
Marvin Rillo
ABC President
Ranulfo Ludovica
SK Federation President
John Ansell de Guzman
Total Area64.2 sq mi (166.20 km2)
Elevation55.8 ft (17.0 m)
Total Population2679450 (2007)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (0/sq mi)
Other information
Time zonePST (UTC+8)
ZIP Code1100 to 1128
Area code2

     Home | City | Quezon City

Quezon City ( ) is the former capital (1948 1976) and the most populous city in the Philippines. Located on the island of Luzon, Quezon City (popularly known to Filipinos as QC) is one of the cities and municipalities that make up Metro Manila, the National Capital Region. The city was named after Manuel L. Quezon, the former president of the Commonwealth of the Philippines who founded the city and developed it to replace Manila as the country's capital. Quezon City is not located in and should not be confused with Quezon province, which was also named after the president.

Having been the former capital, many government offices are located in the city, including the Batasang Pambansa Complex, the seat of the House of Representatives, which is the lower chamber in the Philippine Congress. The main campuses of two noteworthy universities, the Ateneo de Manila University and the country's National University-the University of the Philippines Diliman-are located in the city.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260