AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Ponce, Puerto Rico

Ponce Puerto Rico
Full nameAutonomous Municipality of Ponce
Official nameAutonomous Municipality of Ponce
Native nameMunicipio Autónomo de Ponce
Native name langes
Settlement typeMunicipality
AnthemPerla del Sur
CountryUnited States
TerritoryPuerto Rico
MayorDr. María Meléndez Altieri
Sen. dist.5 - Ponce
Rep. dist.24, 25
Total Area193.6 sq mi (501.4 km2)
Land Area114.7 sq mi (297.1 km2)
Water Area78.9 sq mi (204.4 km2)
Elevation164 ft (50 m)
Total Population166327 (2010)
Metro (pop.)442244
Racial groups
(2000 Census)
82.0% White
9.0% Black
0.5% American Indian/AN
0.2% Asian
0.0% Native Hawaiian/PI
5.9% Some other race
2.4% Two or more races
Other information
Time zoneAST (no daylight saving time) (UTC-4)
ZIP codes00715-00716, 00728, 00730-00734, 00780
Area code787, 939

     Home | City | Ponce Puerto Rico

Ponce (c-enˈpɔːnseɪ; -esˈponθelangPonce2 is both a city and a municipality in the southern part of Puerto Rico. The city is the seat of the municipal government.

The city of Ponce, the second largest in Puerto Rico outside of the San Juan metropolitan area, is named for Juan Ponce de León y Loayza, the great-grandson of Spanish conquistador Juan Ponce de León. Ponce is often referred to as La Perla del Sur (The Pearl of the South), La Ciudad Señorial (The Noble, or Lordly, City), and La Ciudad de las Quenepas (Genip City). The city serves as the governmental seat of the autonomous municipality as well as the regional hub for various Government of Puerto Rico entities, such as the Judiciary of Puerto Rico. It is also the regional center for various other commonwealth and federal government agencies.

The Municipality of Ponce, officially the Autonomous Municipality of Ponce, is located in the Southern Coastal Plain region of the island, south of Adjuntas, Utuado, and Jayuya; east of Peñuelas; west of Juana Díaz; and bordered on the south by the Caribbean Sea. The municipality has a total of 31 barrios (wards), including 19 outside the city's urban area and 12 in the urban area of the city. The historic Ponce Pueblo district, located in the downtown area of the city, is shared by several of the downtown barrios, and is located approximately three miles inland from the shores of the Caribbean. Ponce is a principal city of both the Ponce Metropolitan Statistical Area and the Ponce-Yauco-Coamo Combined Statistical Area. The municipality of Ponce is the second largest in Puerto Rico by land area, and it was the first in Puerto Rico to obtain its autonomy, becoming The Autonomous Municipality of Ponce in 1992.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260