AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Parliament of Austria

Background Color#e6234b
Text Colorwhite
NameParliament of Austria
Native NameÖsterreichisches Parlament
Coa PicOsterreich Parlament Logo.png
Coa Res210px
Coa AltLogo of the Parliament of Austria
House TypeBicameral
HousesFederal Council
National Council
Leader1 TypePresident of the Federal Council
Leader1Peter Mitterer
Election15 January 2010
Leader2 TypePresident of the National Council
Leader2Barbara Prammer
Election230 October 2006
* 62 (Federal Council) * 183 (National Council)
House1Federal Council
House2National Council
Structure1 Res260px
Structure1 AltCurrent Structure of the Federal Council
Structure224th National Council of Austria.svg
Structure2 Res260px
Structure2 AltCurrent Structure of the National Council
Political Groups14 Groups
title=4 Groups
ÖVP (28)
SPÖ (24)
OF (6)
Political Groups26 Groups
title=6 Groups
SPÖ (57)
ÖVP (51)
Grüne (20)
BZÖ (17)
OK (4)
Voting System1Appointment by State Landtags
Voting System2Proportional representation
Last Election1Unelected House
Last Election228 September 2008
Session RoomVienna Parlament 2005.jpg
Session Res260px
Session AltParliament Building, Vienna
Meeting PlaceParlament
Innere Stadt, Vienna
Republic of Austria

     Home | Legislature | Parliament of Austria

In the Parliament of Austria (Österreichisches Parlament) is vested the legislative power of the Republic of Austria. The institution consists of two chambers,

* the National Council (Nationalrat) and

* the Federal Council (Bundesrat).

The National Council is composed of 183 members elected through proportional representation in a general election. This happens every five years, or earlier if the National Council prematurely moves for its own dissolution. The National Council is the dominant (albeit 'lower') house in the Austrian Parliament, and consequently the terms Parliament and National Council are commonly used synonymously.

The Federal Council is elected indirectly, through the provincial diets (Landtage) of the nine States of the Federal Republic. The states are represented in the Federal Council roughly in accordance to the size of their populations. Seats are redistributed among the states following each general census, and the overall size of the chamber is slightly variable as a result of this. The current Federal Council is composed of 62 delegates. With regard to most issues, the Federal Council only possesses a dilatory right of veto which can be overridden by the National Council. However, the Federal Council enjoys absolute veto powers over bills intended to alter the powers of either the states, or of the Federal Council itself.

The Federal Assembly (Bundesversammlung) is a body of mostly ceremonial function, consisting of the members of both houses of parliament. The Federal Assembly convenes only rarely, for instance to witness the inauguration of the Federal President. It might be noted, however, that under exceptional circumstances the Austrian constitution endows the Federal Assembly with significant responsibilities. An example of this would be its pivotal role in the hypothetic impeachment of a Federal President.

Both houses of parliament, as well as the Federal Assembly, convene in the Parliament building located on Vienna's Ringstraße.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260