AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

     Home | Northern Ireland district | Omagh District Council

Omagh District Council is a local council in County Tyrone in Northern Ireland. Its headquarters is in the town of Omagh, which is the traditional county town of Tyrone. The council area is about 440 sqmi (1139.6 km2), making it the second largest local council area in Northern Ireland with a population of just over 50,000 (25,000 of which live in Omagh town). Apart from Omagh the area contains smaller towns including Drumquin, Dromore, Trillick, Fintona, Beragh, Carrickmore and Sixmilecross.

The council was established in 1973 and originally had 20 councillors but following a review of local government boundaries in the early 1980s, the number of councillors was increased to 21. Omagh District Council consists of three electoral areas: Omagh Town, Mid Tyrone and West Tyrone. In the last elections in 2011 members were elected from the following political parties: 10 Sinn Féin, 3 Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP), 3 Ulster Unionist Party (UUP), 3 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) and 2 Independents. The election of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Council takes place annually in June. The current Chairman is Councillor Frankie Donnelly (Sinn Féin) and the Vice Chairman is Councillor Ross Hussey (UUP).

Omagh District Council Video

Omagh Bomb - UTV Archive 1998. Omagh. 1998. A car bomb explodes among hundreds of people in the crowded market street of Omagh. 31 people died, and hundreds more were seriously injured.
7.27 min. | 5.0 user rating
Sinn Féin women election candidates from across the 6 counties gather in Belfast for a weekend of training aimed at improving their self-awareness, communication, presentation and public speaking...
10.83 min. | 4.0 user rating
Siamsa Gael Irish dancers & Sollus Highland dancers performing together.
3.67 min. | 0 user rating
Fuel Nightclub, Gortin Road. Omagh, presents Octane, Club Classics Nite, Saturday 4th June 2011. Playing Dance, Trance and Oldskool Club Classics.
2.38 min. | 4.6 user rating
Sinn Féin Ministers Michelle O'Neill and Carál Ní Chuilín along with West Tyrone MP Pat Doherty are joined by Tír Ãoghain Sinn Féin MLA's, Councillors & activists to get a tour and site...
5.68 min. | 4.27 user rating
The logo, which was designed by Creative Media, combines the elements of what is of importance to the Council â the unique heritage of the region, the natural environment of this area of...
5.07 min. | 0 user rating
Defined Ridez Ireland first road trip which took place on 22nd September 2013 from Fintona to Benone Beach. It was a great day and hopefully more to come for Defined Ridez Ireland.
2.02 min. | 5.0 user rating
Three candidates standing in the May 2014 local government elections discuss the importance of young people being represented in the new Omagh-Fermanagh Council. Follow the upcoming council.
2.62 min. | 0 user rating
This is my showreel of some of the roles i've done.
2.60 min. | 5.0 user rating

1.80 min. | 5.0 user rating

Latest News : Omagh District Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Omagh District Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Omagh District Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Northern_Ireland_district     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
Water To Power Irish Entrepreneurs - Tweet this news for the technology and Alison McCullagh will share insights into -Omagh District Council's- development of a hydro turbine system on the Camowen River. ... - Date : Tue, 19 Oct 2010 08:36:06 GMT+00:00

2005 election results>
Party seats change +/-
Sinn Féin 10 =
Democratic Unionist Party 3 =
Ulster Unionist Party 3 =
Social Democratic and Labour Party 3 =
Independent 2 =
Party seats change +/-
Sinn Féin 10 +2
Democratic Unionist Party 3 +1
Ulster Unionist Party 3 =
Social Democratic and Labour Party 3 -3
Independent 2 =

Local authorities of Northern Ireland

Antrim * Ards * Armagh * Ballymena * Ballymoney * Banbridge * Belfast * Carrickfergus * Castlereagh * Coleraine * Cookstown * Craigavon * Derry * Down * Dungannon and South Tyrone * Fermanagh * Larne * Limavady * Lisburn * Magherafelt * Moyle * Newry and Mourne * Newtownabbey * North Down * Omagh * Strabane

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting