AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

National Soccer League

Football League
New Zealand
First season1977
Number of teams42 (total)
Current championsPerth Glory (2nd title)
Most championshipsMarconi Stallions
South Melbourne FC
Sydney City (4 titles each)
TV partnersSeven Network & C7 Sport (1998-2002)
SBS (2002-2004)

     Home | Football League | National Soccer League

The National Soccer League (NSL) is the former national association football competition in Australasia, overseen by Soccer Australia and later the Australian Soccer Association. The NSL spanned 28 seasons from its inception in 1977, until its demise in 2004. In 2005, it was succeeded by the A-League competition, run by Football Federation Australia, the successor to the Australian Soccer Association. The competition was also known by various names including the Philips Soccer League, Coca-Cola Soccer League, Ericsson Cup and briefly during the mid-1990s the A-League.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260