AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

National Assembly of South Korea

Background Color#c19431
Text Colorwhite
NameNational Assembly
Native Name 
Transcription NameGukhoe
Legislature18th National Assembly of Korea
Coa PicEmblem of the National Assembly of Korea.svg
House TypeUnicameral
Leader1 TypeSpeaker
Leader1Park Hee-tae
Election1June 8, 2010
Leader2 TypeVice Speaker
Leader2Chung Eui-hwa
Election2June 8, 2010
Leader3 TypeVice Speaker
Leader3Hong Jae-hyong
Election3June 8, 2010
Structure118th National Assembly of South Korea.svg
Structure1 Res270px
Political Groups1  Grand National Party (169)
  Democratic Party (87)
  Liberty Forward Party (18)
  Future Hope Alliance (8)
  Democratic Labor Party (6)
  Creative Korea Party (2)
  New Progressive Party (1)
  Independents (5)
  Vacant (3)
Last Election1April 9, 2008
Session RoomSeoul-National.Assembly-01.jpg
Session Res270px
Meeting PlaceNational Assembly Building, Seoul

     Home | Legislature | National Assembly of South Korea

The National Assembly of the Republic of Korea (South Korea) (Gukhoe in Korean language) is a 299-member unicameral legislature. The latest general elections were held on April 9, 2008. Single-member constituencies comprise 245 of the National Assembly's seats, while the remaining 54 are allocated by proportional representation. Members serve four-year terms.

The unicameral National Assembly consists of at least 200 members according to the Constitution. In 1990 the National Assembly had 299 seats, 224 of which were directly elected from single-member districts in the general elections of April 1988. Under applicable laws, the remaining seventy-five representatives were appointed by the political parties in accordance with a proportional formula based on the number of seats won in the election. By law, candidates for election to the National Assembly must be at least thirty years of age. As part of a political compromise in 1987, an earlier requirement that candidates have at least five years' continuous residency in the country was dropped to allow Kim Dae Jung, who had spent several years in exile in Japan and the United States during the 1980s, to return to political life. The National Assembly's term is four years. In a change from the more authoritarian Fourth Republic and Fifth Republic (1972 � 80 and 1980 � 87, respectively), under the Sixth Republic, the National Assembly cannot be dissolved by the president.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260