AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Morobe Province

Morobe Province
Full nameMorobe Province
Official nameMorobe Province
Settlement typeProvince
CountryPapua New Guinea
DistrictsBulolo District
Finschhafen District
Huon District
Kabwum District
Lae District
Markham District
Menyamya District
Nawae District
Tewae-Siassi District
GovernorLuther Wenge (2002-)
Total Area13317 sq mi (34500 km2)
Total Population539725 (2000)
Density (pop.)auto/km2 (0/sq mi)
Other information
Time zoneAEST (UTC+10)

     Home | Papua New Guinea Province | Morobe Province

Morobe Province (previously named Adolfhafen in German New Guinea) is a province on the northern coast of Papua New Guinea. The provincial capital, and largest city, is Lae. The province covers 34,500 km2, including 719 km2 maritime area, with a population of 539,725 (2000 census). It includes the Huon Peninsula, the Markham River, and delta, and coastal territories along the Huon Gulf. The province has nine administrative districts, and 171 languages are spoken, including Kâte and Yabim. English and Pidgin English are common languages in the urban areas, and in some areas forms of Pidgin German are mixed with the native language.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260