AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Michael Mulcahy (Irish politician)

Personal data
Date of birth23 June 1960(age 56)
Political partyFianna Fáil
Alma materTrinity College, Dublin
Teachta Dála
In officeMay 2002 - February 2011
ConstituencyDublin South Central
In officeFebruary 1993 - July 1997
ConstituencyNominated by the Taoiseach

     Home | Office Holder | Michael Mulcahy (Irish politician)

Michael Mulcahy (born 23 June 1960) is a former Irish Fianna Fáil politician. He was a Teachta Dála (TD) for the Dublin South Central constituency from 2002 to 2011.

A barrister and graduate of Trinity College, Dublin, Mulcahy entered politics as a member of Dublin Corporation, where he served from 1985 2003. He was Lord Mayor of Dublin from 2001 2002. He is a son of John Mulcahy, the proprietor of The Phoenix magazine and founder of the Sunday Tribune newspaper.

He was first elected to Dáil Éireann on his fifth attempt at the 2002 general election and was re-elected at the 2007 general election.

He had previously served as a Senator in the 20th Seanad, to which he was nominated by the Taoiseach, Albert Reynolds. He was awarded the Knight's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland in 2002.

He lost his seat at the 2011 general election.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260