AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

     Home | Northern Ireland district | Magherafelt District Council

Magherafelt District Council is a district council in County Londonderry in Northern Ireland. Council headquarters are in Magherafelt. The Council area stretches from Lough Neagh and the River Bann in the east and into the Sperrin Mountains in the west and is divided by the Moyola River. It covers an area of 214 sqmi (554.3 km2) and has a current population of over 39,500. Local towns in the area include Bellaghy, birthplace of poet Seamus Heaney in 1939.

The Council is composed of 16 elected representatives. Local elections are held every four years on a proportional representation system. At the last election in May 2011, those elected were from the following political parties: 9 Sinn Féin, 3 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), 2 Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP) and 2 Ulster Unionist Party (UUP). The chairman and vice-chairman are elected on an annual basis at the annual general meeting in May or June. The current (2011/12) chairman is Councillor Ian Milne(SF), who represents Moyola electoral area, and the vice-chairman is Councillor George Shiels(UUP), who represents Magherafelt Town electoral area.

In elections for the Westminster Parliament it is part of the Mid Ulster constituency.

Magherafelt District Council Video
3.93 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Magherafelt District Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Magherafelt District Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Magherafelt District Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Northern_Ireland_district     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
War play goes on tour - Londonderry Today Tweet this news
Londonderry Today--The tour is kindly sponsored by the International School for Peace Studies, the Department for Foreign Affairs and -Magherafelt District Council- Peace III.--- - Date : Thu, 28 Oct 2010 12:48:19 GMT+00:00

Party seats change +/-
Sinn Féin 9 +1
Democratic Unionist Party 3 -1
Social Democratic and Labour Party 2 =
Ulster Unionist Party 2 =

Local authorities of Northern Ireland

Antrim * Ards * Armagh * Ballymena * Ballymoney * Banbridge * Belfast * Carrickfergus * Castlereagh * Coleraine * Cookstown * Craigavon * Derry * Down * Dungannon and South Tyrone * Fermanagh * Larne * Limavady * Lisburn * Magherafelt * Moyle * Newry and Mourne * Newtownabbey * North Down * Omagh * Strabane

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting