AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

MLS Supporters' Shield

Football Tournament
RegionMajor League Soccer (CONCACAF)
Number of teams18 (total)
Current championsLos Angeles Galaxy (3rd title)
Most successful clubD.C. United (4 titles)
Current seasonMLS 2011

     Home | football tournament | MLS Supporters Shield

The Major League Soccer Supporters' Shield is an annual award given to the Major League Soccer team with the best regular season record, as determined by the MLS points system. Akin to the Australasian A-League's premiership, and similar to the President's Trophy of the NHL, the Supporters' Shield has been annually awarded at the MLS Supporters' Summit since 1999, and has been recognized as a major trophy by the league. Since 2006, the Supporters' Shield winner has earned a berth in North America's continental club championship, now known as the CONCACAF Champions League.

With four regular season titles, D.C. United has won the most league premierships of any MLS club. The current defending premiers are the Los Angeles Galaxy.

Warning: simplexml_load_file('/Shield?orderby=viewCount&max-results=10) [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "'/Shield?orderby=viewCount&max-results=10" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260