AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Los Lagos Region

Los Lagos Region
NameLos Lagos Region
Name EsX Región de Los Lagos
FlagFlag of Los Lagos Region, Chile.svg
Coat Of ArmsCoat of arms of Los Lagos Region, Chile.svg
CapitalPuerto Montt, Chile
ProvincesOsorno, Llanquihue, Chiloé, Palena
Area Rank5
Elev Min M0
Pop Date2002
Pop Rank7
Pop Ref
Iso CodeCL-LL

     Home | Settlement L | Los Lagos Region

The X Los Lagos Region ( , literally Region of the Lakes) is one of Chile's 15 regions, which are first order administrative divisions, and comprises four provinces: Chiloé, Llanquihue, Osorno and Palena. The region contains the country's second largest island, Chiloé, and the second largest lake, Llanquihue.

Its capital is Puerto Montt; other important cities include Osorno, Castro, Ancud, and Puerto Varas, Frutillar. Also visit Archaeological site of Monte Verde. The region is part of Northern Patagonia as the presence of Tehuelches (first Patagons) were present as of 14.500AD.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260